We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Owasso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Owasso
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Owasso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We never even made it through the door! The clerk had terrible customer service skills! He couldn't even hold his phone call to answer our questions! Don't book here! If you can't even get decent service why would you stay here?!?!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Husker53777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Owasso, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Owasso, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We all work diligently to make everyone's stay enjoyable - but at times and for many reasons, we fall short of this goal.

I am familiar with the issue you have spoken about - and would like to bring some clarification to the issue as well as a standard we try to use to make sure we are handling all guests in a timely fashion.

As I believe you are aware, when you came to the property, the front desk person was on the phone. The call which had already been received when you entered was a guest calling and seeking possible reservations for the evening - but just as you were made aware, we were sold out.

Staff are trained to handle ALL guests on a first come first serve basis. This includes those guests that call into the hotel. Just in this matter, the guest on the phone was first to call before you entered, thus the clerk on duty was handling that guest in proper order. Once he was completed with that guest, then he would handle the next guest in line, which was yourselves and how the situation was handled.

It would have been improper for the clerk to put the calling guest on hold in order to assist you first, as they caller was the first guest. As an example, if you were at the counter and the clerk was helping you - if a call came in, instead of putting it on hold and finishing assisting you, but instead just remained on the phone, and handle everything the guest on the phone wanted before returning to you would be improper. You would expect that he put the call on hold and finishing taking care of you.

In this instance that is what the clerk did. He continued assisting the guest that was on the phone, who was as we would say first in line, and once completed helping that guest, turned to assist you.

I apologize you felt in some way put off of received terrible service because the clerk was already handling a guest and would not stop accommodate you first, but that would not have been appropriate for the other guest already being attended to when you arrived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    5
    8
    9
See reviews for
22
6
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austell
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I read previous reviews that the hotel smelled terribly of cigarette smoke. These reviews are correct. We stayed in a room on the third floor (top floor) and the hallway absolutely reeked of the cigarette stench. That is not an over-exaggeration in the least. It was seriously awful. The room we stayed in was at least tolerable, but everything still had this smell that had sunk into all of the upholstery. Even the linens on the bed smelled funny. We walked to the convenience store next door and bought a bottle of Febreze to cover the smells in the room.

The room at least appeared relatively clean and tidy for the most part. A lot of the surfaces were evidently not dusted any time recently, though. The bathroom was clean and the beds were tidy. There were plenty of extra outlets for our electronics.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Owasso, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Katrina T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. Your review is very important for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guests. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your room and if you received service that was less than satisfactory. Please be assured that all comments and suggestions are taken seriously as we strive to deliver exceptional service to our guests.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very good hotel with a fairly decent breakfast.Only downside was I wanted to be able to swim in the indoor pool but it was closed for the days we were there. However the workout room was nice and we will try the hotel again when we return to visit friends in the area. Our room was clean and nicely furnished and the staff was friendly and accommodating. I did not understand the negative comments on the hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshaE28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Owasso, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Owasso, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments - I do apologize that the pool was down during the time you stayed at the property, but as you may have learned we had just completed some updating and were in the process of bring the pool back up during the time of your stay. I am happy to say, the pool is open and fully operational - and we hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My 80 year old father was excited to travel to his sister's 70th birthday celebration. He made reservations for his family one month in advance. He reserved 3 double rooms as there were going to be 7 of us. He gave them his credit card number and we thought we were all set. The week before 2 had to cancel. Wanting the hotel to have the extra room available, he called 4 days before our arrival. Canceled one room, and gave them his updated credit card number. When we arrived, they only had 2 SINGLE rooms reserved for the 5 of us, no rollaway beds available and no record of his call. They said the credit card number they had was not good and they tried to call...AT NOON that day...well we were on the road from Dallas at noon! No manager was available until Monday, The manager could not be reached by phone, and they were very sorry one of us did not have a place to sleep. Not that it mattered, there was another group there that decided to party all night in the lobby, and on the 2nd floor. Nothing was ever done to make it restful for the rest of the guests. If you have a choice, try someplace else!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Owasso hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We tried to stay at this place a few days ago. The hall and room were smokey even though our room was non smoking. The room was a little dirty especially the corners. We left and stayed at the Hampton Inn which was much better. The desk clerk was nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pecanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Owasso, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear pecanmike,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the smoke and smell you have experienced. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as this issue will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Friendly staff. Very comfortable room with 2 queen sized beds. Clean. No hint of any smoking in our rooms. Excellent breakfast choices that changed from day to day. One day, they had an awesome automatic pancake maker. Will stay here in the future. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jdsharpnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I probably should have just turned around and walked out when I could smell cigarette smoke the moment I stepped into the elevator... I don't think anyone was smoking in my room but the entire 3rd floor hallway smelled of it. You know how smoke travels... The room is actually super nice except for the skinny mattress. I have a thicker box spring at home. Between the smoke, and uncomfortable mattress, I spent my first few minutes of the day blowing my nose and cracking my back. I will say the shower was phenomenal. If they put a similar investment into the bed, and strictly enforced no smoking, this could be a nice hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave12345678901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Owasso, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Dave12345678901,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the rooms you received. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owasso
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Owasso
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulsa North/Owasso
1.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tulsa North/Owasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Owasso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Owasso Tulsa North Area
11.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#11 of 108 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Owasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Owasso

Property: Holiday Inn Express Owasso
Address: 7551 N Owasso Expwy, Owasso, OK 74055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Owasso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Owasso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Owasso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Owasso Hotel provides modern day conveniences with elegantly designed guest rooms. Only 9 mile from Tulsa International Airport, 5 miles to the Tulsa Zoo/Park 3 miles Baily's Golf Ranch 12 miles, Tulsa Expo and Water Park 18 miles from Oklahoma Aquarium. Featuring indoor pool, spa and sauna and a fitness center. Our business center is up-to-date with high speed internet access, and a printer is always open 24 hours for your convenience. Only minutes away from the Tulsa area which is great for the corporate or leisure traveler. Guest rooms complete with wireless high speed internet, ethernet cables also inside the rooms, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. We also offer a Deluxe Express Start Continental breakfast bar free to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Owasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Owasso
Owasso Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing