We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City
Ranked #22 of 149 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was a girls weekend away to the AQHA World Show. And it was a wonderful place to stay. very comfortable, friendly, EXCELLENT breakfast. Rooms were clean, towels were folded into fans, just made you feel at home. Felt very secure, well lit parking lot. Easy access of Meridian, close to attractions & places to eat & shop. Will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    355
    171
    57
    44
See reviews for
307
237
89
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ivins, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We chose the HoJo in part due to traveling West and wanting to be outside the city so we could miss morning traffic and in part due to the reviews and previous positive experience with HoJo properties in other locations.

Friendly staff, easy check in and we promptly were in our n/s King room at the rear of the property. This hotel has the room doors on inside hallways, but as a bonus there are large sliding glass doors to the outside. This allowed us to park right outside our room, and bring our suitcases inside via the sliding door instead of having to pack them thru the hallways. Worth noting is that all the sliders have a security bar built in. Quick and easy to use, and we felt secure in the room.

My wife is a smoker, but only smokes outside. The slider made it nice for her to quickly and easily go outside for a smoke and was appreciated by her. Also made for a quick and easy unload and load of the car.

This is a better than average HoJo, which I generally rate as a step up from a Motel 6. Upon entering the hallway from the parking lot, it was a pleasant surprise to see that they were in the process of installing all new carpets! The hallways and our room already had new carpets that were very nice and CLEAN. The room had been recently painted and was also CLEAN. Great bed and we had a good sleep. Big win on the roundy shower curtain rod too!

The bonus of a hot/cold breakfast and the reasonable room price made this a very pleasant stay for us and certainly a place we would return to on future trips. This was perhaps the nicest hotel in the under $60/night range for this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I typically stay in Hampton Inns, but was traveling with family who booked this hotel. I was a little leery of the "Ho Jo" but ended up pleasantly surprised. It was a little shabby, with peeling paint and outdated fixtures, but when the price is right and the location is good, who cares! I liked that the rooms open to a hallway (no motel enter-from-the-street setup) and that you needed a key to get in the side doors. It felt very safe. A hair dryer and basic soap and shampoo were available. The shower curtain was one of the curved ones (which I prefer) but pretty ragged. If you expect to spend much time in the hotel and want some more modern accommodations, maybe this isn't the place for you. But the wifi was free and fast and breakfast (though sparse) was included. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport and though it is right off the interstate, it was very quiet. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. There was an outdoor pool but no time to try it out; it may have even been closed since it was November. I don't known that I would stay here again (I prefer a little more polish and shine & I love my Hilton points) but I wouldn't tell someone else not to stay if they don't mind the decor and basic breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 50in50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Review of Howard Johnson in Oklahoma City

Stayed at the Howard Johnson Express Inn in Oklahoma City off Meridian Ave. A very nice hotel that was on a budget. Area is perfect. Very easy to find off the road and lots of places to eat in immediate area. From Denny's , IHOP and many fast food places as well.
Parking was plentiful and free. very safe and quiet area. so no worries for anyone here. The rooms was spacious, but not nearly as big as their on-line pictures lead you to believe. They were clean and we slept well. The location is on the west side of the city, but we didn’t find that to be a disadvantage. As it is essential to have a car in OKC to get around, the hotel has excellent highway access, and the traffic was no problem, we were able to get anywhere we wanted to go in minutes. The room had a refrig and a mini-microrave. Both worked very well. Clean, modernized rooms with some comfortable beds. No really! this is one the only hotels so far that I've wanted to stay in bed when i woke up. No noisy AC unit, its built into the wall. Overall I would stay here again. I would recommend this property to anyone. Single, couples and families and seniors

Room Tip: Check out the morning breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Saddleback Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Saddleback Inn...
#18 of 149 in Oklahoma City
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Airport
Baymont Inn & Suites Oklahoma Ci...
#50 of 149 in Oklahoma City
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#65 of 149 in Oklahoma City
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oklahoma City
Baymont Inn & Suites Oklahoma Ci...
#27 of 149 in Oklahoma City
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City ...
#10 of 149 in Oklahoma City
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Oklahoma City Airport
WoodSpring Suites Oklahoma City ...
#68 of 149 in Oklahoma City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City
Address: 400 S Meridian Ave, I-40 at Exit 145 (Meridian), Oklahoma City, OK 73108-1014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oklahoma City
#27 Family Hotel in Oklahoma City
#31 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Oklahoma City Hotel Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing