We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sprechen de Okie”
Review of Ingrid’s Kitchen

Ingrid’s Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 35 Dessert in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Willkommen! For over 35 years, Ingrid's Kitchen has been Oklahoma City's favorite choice for fine German food, as well as European and American specialties. Authentic recipes, old-world charm and hospitality are the hallmarks that distinguish our legendary restaurant, bakery and delicatessen. We feature weekday breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as a weekend buffet and brunch. Try our mouthwatering specialty plates, Reuben sandwiches, weiner schnitzel and much more! Choose from our high quality, affordable beer and wine selections at Ingrid's Bar or as a compliment to the meal. Additionally, we have many proudly displayed meats, cheeses and bakery items to tempt the taste buds. Ingrid's Kitchen also offers a wide variety of custom catering options to suite parties of any size. Don't forget to join us for Saturday live music entertainment by The Silvertops! Whether a long-time regular or first-time visitor, we invite you to visit Ingrid's Kitchen for a truly unforgettable experience!
OKC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sprechen de Okie”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is not German food. It's at best a very average and slightly over-priced- for - the- value version of someone's idea of German food. The pastries have very little to do with German pastries-- no butter, just shortening. The breads are like Wonder bread-- not dense and chewy. If you want a great brat, go to Sprouts and buy some Usinger's ..much better than these. I don't understand how this gets the high ratings it does from so many folks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OKCokiedokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    79
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent German”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is by far the best German restaurant I have ever tried. I just lunched here for maybe my fifth time and it never ever disappoints. I think my absolute favorite is the #53 brat and schnitzel with kraut, my God it is so good. I even order an extra brat or two just to make sure I can pull of that gratifying Bavarian bloat to enjoy all day. Then try one of the many fabulous baked goods. Cupcakes and cookies to die for.

If you ever get to OKC, this is a must try. If you are even the slightest bit into German food then you need to drive or fly here from whatever state you are in and check it out.

Will be returning every chance I get.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXrocklobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Down Home, Excellent German Cuisine”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Where can you still get Fleischkäse, along with a variety of German sausages and a very nice smoked pork chop? At Ingrid's! And you can get it with red cabbage, sauerkraut, German potato salad and a good rye bread.
All of the above are excellent. Strangely, the weakest thing on the menu is the schnitzel. The pastries are reasonably good, whereas the cookies are outstanding. All of it is reasonably priced.
If you eat in the bar, you can get served. If you eat in the family style seating, you go up to the counter and order, then they deliver it to you. They apparently have holiday buffets which are quite good, but we were not there for one. The portions are good and the beer selection is excellent and varies, with a few specials on tap. We will go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank profschiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great German food and bakery”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

You can't leave Ingrid's hungry. They have their own bakery and the best cakes and desserts you could ask for. The staff is friendly and is always happy to answer questions about the types of breads and sausages.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic bakery items and desserts”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good german food....had a plate dinner with 2 bratwurst, sauerkraut, red cabbage, German potato salad, bread....all under $12. You order at the register, then they bring it to your table.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingrid’s Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Ingrid’s Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing