We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Pizza Lovers”
Review of The Wedge

The Wedge
Ranked #72 of 1,647 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Mountainair, New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For Pizza Lovers”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Amazing location located in the Brickyard section of Oklahoma City. Fire baked pizza. The menu has a great assortment of pizzas with homemade marinara sauce and homemade Italian sausage. You can build your own pizza with choices of sauce, choice of cheese, and an incredible selection of toppings. And great value as well. All pizzas are the same size similar to a medium. Perfect for two people and at $14.

This place was incredibly busy on a Saturday night but the staff does not cut on service. It was a most enjoyable experience and I will definitely be back when I return to Oklahoma City.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    46
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wood-Fired Pizza, Lunch, Out-of-the-Ordinary”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for casual lunch. Lunch special is personal pizza and salad - my favorite is the arugula pizza and the spinach salad. Get there early (11:30) to get a table without a wait.

There is a trio appetizer with hummus, tapenade and artichoke dip, served with pita wedges. This is perfect for carrying out to serve with cocktails at home.

When the weather is nice, there is a covered patio out back with full service.

Service is impeccable, with servers who usually remember you if you come more than once.

This is a place I like to take out of town guests. Will definitely eat there again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank clm-OKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hipsters, Good weekday lunch”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have only eaten at the Wedge for weekday lunches (3X), and their special (salad and pizza) is a good deal. Some pizzas choices I love, some like the Arugula Pizza, ugh. The descriptions on the menu are accurate, choose wisely. Service is good and friendly; location and view is great.

I will be back.......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allchargedup1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
196 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beet this!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

On August 5 we went to the wedge after attending the museum of arts movie. The museum cafe and many other restaurants are closed on Sunday evening, but the wedge was open, much to our delight. We had visited the wedge one time beforehand enjoyed their limited but pleasant menu consisting of wood fired pizza plus a few options.

Contrary to the prior review, my beet salad did not contain canned beets. At least my beet salad had roasted beets as the flavor was strong and there were small bits of beet skin on mine!. I would rate the beet salad as slightly above average. My wife had the marinated mozzarella salad, and she rated it average.

The big appetizer that we both enjoyed was their pizza crust pieces and roasted pepper hummus, marinated artichokes, and tapenade......a trio of spreadables. This we paired with a bottle of Gavi de Gavi at $36, a nice Italian white wine. For dessert, we ordered the Prosciutto wrapped pears, with a smear of chèvre cheese under the prosciutto. While this had an outstanding taste, with the sweet of the pear balancing perfectly with the salt of the cheese and meat, the pear was impossible to cut because it was raw. I vowed to work on this recipe and maybe try to parboil the pear for a minute or two in order to soften it slightly. While this review is not 5 star, we had a very nice time. Service and ambience were what you might expect from a local neighborhood pizza joint.

We will return one day and try their signature dish, which is wood fired pizza!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“More like The Dredge”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I hadn't been there in a while because the last experience wasn't great.. This one was worse. The 6.00 itty bitty salad was supposed to have grilled beets and they were nothing more than beets out of the can (not cooked). The pizza was NOTHING to write home about. bland. The bread wasn't bad. The only redeeming quality of the whole experience was the outdoor seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StJohn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wedge also viewed

Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to The Wedge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing