We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Oklahoma History Center
Ranked #15 of 127 things to do in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bring the past alive at the Oklahoma History Center, Oklahoma’s state museum of history. At the Oklahoma History Center discover the people and stories that truly make Oklahoma unique. From oil and gas to aviation; from the Dust Bowl to space exploration; from tornadoes to the Land Run; from Native American Indians to Route 66, there’s a story of triumph and tragedy, hope and heartache, famous and infamous around every corner.The Oklahoma History Center is a testament to the indomitable spirit that built Oklahoma. With four permanent galleries and a special exhibits hall, guests will explore the more than 200 hands-on interactives and 50 subjects that tell the stories of Oklahoma and its people. We truly have something for everyone, with special events that appeal to all ages. From Civil War Day to Rockabilly concerts, there is always something going on!After visiting our galleries, enjoy lunch at the Winnie Mae Café located on the third floor. Be sure to visit our gift shop, stocked with items from local artists, educational games, souvenirs and much more, it is the perfect place to shop for your Oklahoma fix.Conveniently located in the Capital Complex, the Oklahoma History Center is adjacent to the State Capital and the Governor’s Mansion, both within easy driving or walking distance. The History Center is conveniently located off of I-35 and I-40, with easy passenger pick, drop-off and free motor coach parking.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Made a stop here for spring break and it was a bit boring for the kids. My husband and I loved learning about the history!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    50
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma, Usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Artifacts”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I loved seeing the authentic kitchen from the 1900s. There were authentic displays of various cultures which lived in Oklahoma.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynnda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wish it had more history on Oklahoma”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The building is quite large and three stories so you would think there would be a lot to see on Oklahoma history. We were disappointed. The first floor is 1/3 an exhibit on Oklahoma at the Movies. This is a conglomeration of Oklahomans who have worked in/on movies. Not really history but more a pop culture exhibit. 1/3 was on Indians. The rest was area for classrooms and a big area for Wiley Post's airplane.

The second floor was all offices, no exhibits. The third floor was a cafeteria and the rest was set aside for what I would expect on all three floors. I enjoyed the exhibits on the land rush, the dust bowl, the depression, and the wars. I saw nothing though on how Oklahoma became a state or on the cattle drives or the oil industry. What there was instead was historical kitchens (not sure what that had to do with Oklahoma) and an exhbit on black dresses (again what does that have to do with Oklahoma).

We had planned to spend the day there but with so little to see we left before lunch and went on to another site out our list.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 127_Hill_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC,OK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great learning and fun experience for all ages.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The recreation of Wiley Post's Winnie Mae hanging from the ceiling in the entrance brings wows from many guests. Galleries and hands-on exhibits show what life in Oklahoma and SW America is and was. Costumed hosts help to make a visit to this museum a truly memorable experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I really liked learning about the various Native American tribes that were forced to move to Oklahoma and the 1950s exhibit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnLockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oklahoma History Center also viewed

 

Been to Oklahoma History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing