We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful historic hotel in great downtown location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel in great downtown location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

I was very impressed at the beauty of this historic property. From the moment I drove up to the property, I was greeted by a friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant food is very high quality and a good value. The rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florida_girl1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    273
    96
    42
    31
See reviews for
215
443
52
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at the Skirvin to celebrate our anniversary. We love the hotel and its proximity to Bricktown.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrosgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skirvinpaul, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
We are happy to read you had enjoyed your visit to our hotel, and the surrounding area. We look forward to your return...JDW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Skirvin (named for the original owner) was built as the Ornate Hotel and the building lives up to its name. Built in the early 1900's the facade is beautiful, the interior still has many original features (ornate wood trim, georgeous iron works etc..). It's close to everything downtown (Brick Town, the Memorial, The Cox Center).
The staff we dealt with from the doormen to the check-in were young, curtious and friendly. They seem to like their jobs which is hard to find in this day and age. They were all helpful and thanked us on every occasion they could. In fact this became a theme throughout our stay in OKC, they seem to love out of town visitors.
The lobby bar was very lively on a Saturday night and we sat with other guests and a local state representative that was extremely friendly, he was very proud of his downtown district and should be. There were several wedding parties going on and a wonderful piano player on a bright red piano! We were in full costume and skull make up for the March of a Thousand Skulls Halloween parade hosted by the Flaming Lips. We had dozens of people taking our pictures and again thanking us for participating in their town's Ghouls Gone Wild Parade.
We made friends with other guests that were in the parade, some from as far away as North Dakota, New York and Australia.
Our room was on the haunted 10th floor and we did have a few strange occurances and I captured an interesting photograph. The rooms are very nice and the beds are comfortable. I love the bathroom, filled with oversized towels and plenty of vanity room (even had a magnifying mirror).We had room service for breakfast (lox and cream cheese on homemade flatbread which was delicious).
We spent last New year's Eve in OKC for the Flaming Lips concert and will be returning this year for it again...we love this hotel and will stay here again. The city should thank Wayne Coyne and the Flaming Lips for bringing in visitors from all over the world. Their events are a huge draw.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feedmefarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

This was my first stay at the Skirvin. I can now see why my coworkers from out of town always want to stay there. The hotel is very nice, very classy. The rooms are extraordinary. Very comfortable. The staff is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OklahomaTraveler055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The historic Hilton is really beatifully renowated. The rooms have nice colours and fabrics and everything is confortable. Being and old building, you have, however, good isolation, so you dont´t have to listen to what they are talking in the next room and the airconditiong is working queitly and you feel confortable in the nicely decorated room.

We had breakfast and also lunch buffet at the hotel, and both were good. The bar had a good atmoshere and the service at the hotel was good. The only thing to remark is the reception, who did not really know much about the surroundings (they were very polite and wanted to be helpful), they did not quite know where the capitol was situated and mixed it up with the town hall. Never mind, we found there and the next day, when asked if we got there, I did not have the hart to correct the nice woman at the reception.

You are practically in the Brick Town and can walk back to the hotel in the evening, the street lights are good and one can feel secure.

The wallet service worked good, too, so should we come back, there is only one choice of hotel, the Skrivin Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauniit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

I am a Hilton Honors member who has been traveling with Hilton for business and leisure for several years. I say this to say that I have had a great deal of interaction with Hilton staff members and programs. While the Skirvin Hilton is one of the more aesthetically pleasing hotels (uniquely vintage architecture and a fabulously renovated interior) it was one of my most unpleasant Hilton stays. The only friendly staff members were the valet attendants. The front desk staff attendant barely greeted me and made no effort at conversation while checking me in. When she finished, she simply handed me a key and gave no mention of the hotel amenities, parking costs, or even the location of my room and the elevator! I grabbed my key and asked if breakfast was included. She answered shortly. I then asked if WIFI was available and she replied, “It isn’t free”. Interesting answer considering I did not ask about the cost. Her manager chimed in about how to connect to the internet and I asked him about additional amenities. He was helpful but not friendly, annoyed is probably a more fitting description of his attitude. I finally asked about restaurants in the area and the manager made a few suggestions. I have never felt more unwelcomed at a hotel in my entire life. I would hate to think that this treatment occurred because I am African-American but I have to admit that the thought crossed my mind. However, there were no other customers around to which I could compare my experience.

In short, this is a great looking hotel but the front desk staff could use some customer service training….or perhaps a change in career.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SChambers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Loved everything about the Skirvin Hilton, and I cant imagine that there is another hotel of its equal in OKC. The Red Piano Bar was very cool, and if you like beer, then Tapwerks over in the Brickyard is a must visit. OKC in general was much nicer than I expected, and you can't go wrong with the Skirvin!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasDoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sphouser, General Manager at The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experiences with the Skirvin Hilton. We especially appreciate the positive feedback on Oklahoma City as a dynamic destination for that perfect week-end getaway. We hope to welcome you back soon.

John Williams. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.2 mi away
Colcord Hotel
Colcord Hotel
#2 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oklahoma City / Bricktown
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Oklahoma City Downtown/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oklahoma City Downtown - Bricktown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Oklahoma City Downtown Bricktown
Aloft Oklahoma City Downtown Bri...
#33 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oklahoma City-Bricktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City

Property: The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
Address: 1 Park Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102-9003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
#6 Family Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Oklahoma City
Hilton Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing