We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIcer than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
Ranked #9 of 151 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 9, 2007

I stayed at this Hilton for 2 nights during a business trip. The hotel is conveniently located 2 blocks away from the Cox Convention Center. The facade is very nice and has a historic feel. The rooms are also pretty nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My impression is that this was the nicest hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
There are newer reviews for The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,540 - 1,546 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2007

We decided to spend a anniversary getaway weekend at the Skirvin. First off, a beautiful hotel! Most of the renovations have been done very well, some are so-so (like lighting in the piano bar, looks like they just cut holes in the ceiling & stuck the lights in). The staff was very friendly, and the maid service was also good. The self-parking is convenient.

What I didn't like:

$9.95 a day for internet? Ridiculous for a hotel of this caliber.

No tub in the suites. I called the front desk once we got to the room & was told that there are no tubs in any of the suites. Hmmm, not what it says on the Hilton site, and not what I would expect in a high-end suite. The walk-in shower is good sized, but with no heater in the bathroom and the huge gap in the glass, I shivered any time I was not directly under the water. Not enjoyable.

Lots of noise from the hallways. I travel with a white sound machine which still couldn't block all the noise. If you're a light sleeper like me, bring earplugs.

Bar prices are pretty high, we went down to have a pre-dinner cocktail. Almost $20 for a Corona and a glass of house wine, pretty steep for the OKC area.

Overall, we had a nice weekeend, and loved the comfy beds, the tons of pillows, the two TVs. Bricktown is close enough to go enjoy, and exploring the hotel was a lot of fun. Just not exactly what we have come to expect from a high-end suite in a historic hotel. We'll try the Colcord the next time we are in OKC, or go back to the Ambassador in Tulsa.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank OKGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

I actually did a tour of the property while I was in Oklahoma City. I am from Oklahoma and have been anxiously awaiting the reopening of this legendary hotel. I was blown away by the amount of work they have done to bring her back. From the grillwork and hand carved woods, to the painstaking detail on the exterior, I think she must look very much the same as she did in 1911, albeit with some modern improvements. The signature decor color is red and they have built around this beautifully. A nice touch is the embroidered bedspread in each room detailing the history of the hotel. These can be purchased in the hotel's gift shop, The Painted Door. Also noteworthy is the Red Piano, a swanky bar just off the lobby entrance. If you're in OKC for a special occasion, or just want the opportunity to be pampered for a weekend in Old World western style, then this is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank Sthomas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

I was driving cross-country and just needed a place to rest my head for the night and I found a good rate for this hotel so I decided to give it a try. My my, am I glad I did!

The building itself is beautiful, inside and out. The lobby makes quite an impression with its massively high ceiling and black chandelier. The restaurants, though I didn't dine in them, looked cool and contemporary (and busy!). And the room? Stunning...complete with a million pillows and a flat-screen TV.

Actually the only gripe I had was that they had the gall to charge for Internet access in the room. You would think that such a nice property would avoid that.

But still...highly, highly recommended. I just hope that I can stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank slipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoldonShawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank waynelaw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.2 mi away
Colcord Hotel
Colcord Hotel
#2 of 151 in Oklahoma City
1,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oklahoma City / Bricktown
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oklahoma City-Bricktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oklahoma City Downtown - Bricktown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Oklahoma City Downtown Bricktown
Aloft Oklahoma City Downtown Bri...
#36 of 151 in Oklahoma City
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Oklahoma City
21c Museum Hotel Oklahoma City
#5 of 151 in Oklahoma City
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City

Address: 1 Park Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102-9003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oklahoma City
#6 Family Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range: $169 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Oklahoma City
Hilton Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing