We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
Ranked #9 of 151 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I remember the original Skirvin from the 80's, and I was excited to see how the renovation compared to my memory. They did a fantastic job! The lobby is gorgeous with tall luxurious draperies and beautiful dark wooded furniture. They did keep pieces of the previous hotel in the emerald green and brass elevator doors and glimpses of the old flooring.

I traveled with my husband and 4 year old son, and the staff upgraded us to the suite (I am assuming there isn't much hotel traffic on the night of January 1). It was amazing. It included a nice sized bedroom and large living area with a couch (not pull-out). My son and I loved the large windowsills that allowed us to sit in them and look out over the city.

We also used the pool, which is in the basement and is somewhat small, but it fit our needs perfectly.

If I were to make a negative comment, I would say the hotel needs to fix the lack of amount of lighting in the bathroom. In our suite there was a light over the shower, but there was only a small built-in light fixture (the size of a small track lighting fixture or smaller) over the vanity and sink. Just one. It was absolutely impossible to see anything much less put on make-up or fix your hair. I've never seen a sink area so dimly lit. I would recommend a sconce over the mirror (and there's room to add this).

The parking is either by valet for $20/night or save money and use the self-parking garage next to the hotel for $7/night. It was very easy to use.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. They really did a terrific job in preserving a historic landmark in the heart of Oklahoma City.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_pilots_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,563)
There are newer reviews for The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,475 - 1,481 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2009

Friends and I took the Amtrak train from Fort Worth to Oklahoma City for a short, weekend trip back in October. We really enjoyed the train ride--lots of room onboard. We stayed at the Hilton Skirvin for two nights and enjoyed our experience immensely. The hotel has a lot of old-world charm, but the rooms have been updated nicely. It is truly a top-notch hotel. Don't miss the OKC Bombing Memorial (unforgettable) as well as the Oklahoma City Museum of Art (the Dale Chilhuly permanent exhibit is amazing!). And the people of Oklahoma City are the nicest you'll find anywhere!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

second visit to the Skirvin the other being in 2007. fabulously restored and I rate their restaurant better than other establishments charging more. With rooms you get what you pay forbut hey I don't go on holiday to spend my time in a hotel room. Staff were friendly [ perhaps the English accent helps ] and helpful. I shall possibly go back a third time

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
1  Thank charliepjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My husband and I received a Skirvin gift card for a wedding present last year so we booked a room to celebrate our first anniversary. When checking in, the desk clerk congratulated us on our anniversary. I was shocked because he had mentioned it very quickly when he booked the room....atttention to details is amazing! The rooms were beautiful and the bed was sooo comfy! We loved the Red Piano Bar and thought the staff was so friendly. We had room service and hated that we had eaten dinner in Bricktown without knowing how fabulous the food was at the Skirvin. Note to self....if you're staying at the Skirvin...eat there! All in all, our first anniversary was amazing. My husband and I are beyond pleased with the accomidations, staff and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TammyC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My husband & I stayed here on a Saturday night for a nice romantic getaway. I had booked online the "romance package" We checked in our room & to our surprise had recieved a room with double beds? After speaking with the manager, he said he could get us a king room but would take about 30 min. An hour & a half later we call down to the front desk & yes, they had a new room for us but no one had bothered to call & let us know or bring us a key. The rooms are very nice & the beds are wonderful! We were slightly dissapointed with the noise factor. Kids were running down the hall, then I heard a dog barking & howling? I called the front desk, & yes, they do let guest have pets, but would try to take care of noise because I was second guest to complain. At 2:00 am I heard a loud ruckus in hall from a bunch of guys & at 2:30 woke up to the fire alarm asking everyone to evacuate the building. Again called front desk & was told it was a false alarm! (I'm sure the drunk guy's in the hallway set it off!) Anyway, breakfast was awesome, room service was right on time, everything was quiet. We were charged for breakfast even though it was supposed to be included in our package, but again the manager took care of it. I have mixed feelings about the Skirvin. Rooms are nice, beds were extremely comfy, breakfast was great, but I was dissapointed in a 5 star hotel being so loud & the guests so inconsiderate. Maybe it was the weekend thing, several weddings & brides in the hotel. I think we will stay during the week next time:)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We were in OKC for a wedding and loved the Skirvin. The rooms were very nice and the reception rooms were also great. Didn't eat in the restaurant but room service was excellent - especially the Carrot Cake! And the Thai Buffalo Wings. And the Sausage Pepperoni Flat Bread...
As for the person posting multiple times under different names about theft, the safe is plenty big enough for TWO laptops. And any "frequent business traveller" will tell you that we CAN be bothered to use the safe. It's only the rookie traveller that doesn't lock their vaulables safely away.
BTW - The desk in the room was a very nice sized workstation for the time spent online.
The proximity to Bricktown was a bonus as we spent a few evenings there as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoManyPlaces2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

This hotel is beautiful, and within walking distance to the new river walk area in Oklahoma City. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite. WOW. The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the separate living area was more like a living room in someone's house! Both rooms had flat screen tv's, and were beautifully decorated. We had a nice dinner in the hotel's restaurant, which was a little pricey, IMO, but was quite good, and the service was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mombatDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.2 mi away
Colcord Hotel
Colcord Hotel
#2 of 151 in Oklahoma City
1,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oklahoma City / Bricktown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oklahoma City Downtown - Bricktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oklahoma City-Bricktown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Oklahoma City Downtown Bricktown
Aloft Oklahoma City Downtown Bri...
#37 of 151 in Oklahoma City
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Oklahoma City
21c Museum Hotel Oklahoma City
#5 of 151 in Oklahoma City
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City

Address: 1 Park Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102-9003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oklahoma City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oklahoma City
#6 Family Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range: $170 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Oklahoma City
Hilton Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing