We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got a Personal Tour”
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #13 of 126 things to do in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
369 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Got a Personal Tour”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The capitol building is quite attractive and rich with history.

I got lucky and got a personal tour because I was the only one who showed up for the 10 AM tour the day I was there. I highly recommend taking the tour (it's free). My guide was very knowledgeable about the building's history and the artwork.

The legislature was in session, so I got to sit in the Senate and House galleries to watch some legislation in action. It was also a great experience because the capitol was buzzing with activity.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Butler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    110
    41
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Capitol surrounded by Oil Wells”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This Capitol building is rather unique since it has oil wells surrounding it, as the Capitol sits in teh middle of an old prolific oil field. The interior is beautiful and the murals are spectacular. Be sure and see the Jim Thorpe memorial. Well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank AngloAmerican3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I would definitely recommend taking the guided tours. It was a fun and new experience. I would be sure to take a camera to capture the beauty.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bailey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“State Captial”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Interesting Capital. The dome is still new and the working oil rigs are old.

Helpful?
Thank rtdugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Fast, Friendly, Good!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

There are a lot to choose from for a snack bar, I was surprised at how good the food was. They have hot sandwiches before 1 pm( the grill closes) and a lot of other healthy food choices to choose from.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank zoeygirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing