We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family outing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hefner Lake & Park

Hefner Lake & Park
Ranked #12 of 125 things to do in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
“Perfect family outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I got married in front of the lighthouse, it's a great place for quality time, or even a family picnic. A huge park for children, and 2 great restaurants by the water. We bring our kids here often, and its even great to go biking, and maybe even bring your wagon for the kids! Bathrooms are portapotties, and not the cleanest. But overall, a great family environment!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    53
    24
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A day out with the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Family atmosphere and lots of fun. Lots to do. Evan, my two-year-old loved the park. I chased him everywhere and we watched the people out of the lake.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khristinatew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, KY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Trails, not much lake left :(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I walked around the Lake Hefner trails several times in different areas. Huge playground near the restaurant area. Stars & Stripes park also very nice.
The lake is about 1/2 its normal depth because of the drought, so there are quite a few boats on their keels at the marina.
Walk/bike paths go all around the lake, paved, some shared-use, some segregated.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OneKentuckyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not great as lakeside settings go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The lake is very shallow and during droughts drives up 100 feet or more from the shoreline. No interesting topography around the lake. Go somewhere else.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
315 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Outdoors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Along with the Golf Course a great place to experience the outdoors. Its bicycle trails are one of the finest at over 9 miles. If you are into model airplanes, they have a field. If you like boating ( although probably not this year due to the drought and its a municipal water supply) one of the best in US for Hobie Cat Sailing. Lots of room to walk the dog or throw a fresbiee.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank garnett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hefner Lake & Park also viewed

 

Been to Hefner Lake & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing