We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 3 star hotel, big disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City
Ranked #92 of 147 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a 3 star hotel, big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very disappointed. Shows as a 3 star hotel on Priceline. We were put in a king cabana. A room off the pool. It smelled very moldy in the bathroom which made the whole room smell unpleasant. Couldn't take a shower due to absolutely no pressure. The water literally came out of the shower head in a trickle. Had to take a bath to wash my hair. Called maintenance to come look at it while we were out. I don't know if they ever showed up or not. Never heard anything from management. The rooms inside the main hotel may be nicer, but the ones labeled as "cabana" rooms are definitely not worth the price. The only pluses were comfortable bed and the room stayed nice and cool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKCTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mary W,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm pleased you mentioned that the beds were comfortable and the room was nice and cool. I deeply apologize you were not fully satisfied with the bathroom in your room. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Again, thank you for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    77
    61
    46
    49
See reviews for
59
49
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was not impressed w/the renovation. However, bed was comfortable and I slept like a baby. Lighting in shower area of the bathroom was very dim. Lamp on my side of bed was broken. Got a fairly reasonable price on priceline of $85/night. On a good note, there were plenty of places to eat and lots of shopping close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ls66611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write a review.

We do hear a lot that the beds are great and guests get a great night sleep with us - that is one of the hallmarks of the Crowne Plaza brand. I agree that the hotel's location is also a plus for our guests!

We are in the process of upgrading the lighting in the bath area to improve this aspect of the guest experience. Additionally, we have just completed an accent wall covering in all guestrooms, and our refreshed bedding toppings arrive in early January.

Thank you again for your comments and your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I like this hotel for its location (good for my visits to OKC). It appears to have undergone a renovation & upon first glance, looks very nice. Just little things like faucet on sink not easy to use, electrical box behind tv broken, worn out looking spots on wallpaper in bathroom. When checking in, the wait was long & the man behind me was saying when he got to his room someone else was already occupying it! I didn't have any problems though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silveraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments and your recent stay with us.

Your are right - the hotel has undergone renovations in 2012. Of course there are still some touch up items that we are completing (like tightening the TV boxes behind the TV's and adjusting the plumbing fixtures). We should be complete with these touch-ups by year end. We will also be refreshing our bedding topping in early January as we continue to look for ways to enhance teh guest experience.

One thing that hasn't changed is the great location of our property in NW Oklahoma City. Thank you again for your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked a room through Priceline. Check in time was 3:00 and we arrived at 3:15. We were informed that the boiler wasn't working and there was no hot water. The manager on duty came out and told us that he was trying to find us a room at another hotel. After 2 hour of watching this manager, he was very young and obviously had no idea what he was doing, I called Priceline myself and they didn't know anything about the problem. After 15 minutes priceline had us another room down the street at the Hilton Garden. The manager and staff at Crowne Plaza were rude and incompetent. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us. I am sorry that you had a negative experience here. We did have the boiler go down on the day of your arrival. We attempted to relocate guests while we were trying to determine if we would have hot water that evening. I apologize it took so long for your specific issue. Most of the guests that day were dealt with quickly and efficiently - I am sorry that we dropped the ball in getting you moved to a different property.

Again, we appreciate your comments even if they are hard to hear as they help us in our training and development efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
151 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I read the reviews for this Crowne Plaza before arriving and was a bit apprehensive about my stay. While isn't the newest or nicest hotel in the world I will say it was clean and comfortable and well kept for what is probably a 50 year old facility.

I arrived at the hotel around 2:00pm and was friendly and professionally allowed to check-in by a very friendly front desk agent. She also accommodated my bed type request which was much appreciated. I was a bit curious about the history of the hotel being that like i said the place is probably pushing 50 years old. The staff's knowledge of the property was limited but they did know that the hotel was originally built as a Hilton back in the late 50's / early 60's so you should realize that going in.

The hallways had clean carpeting and as previous reviewers noted very low 7 foot ceilings. While this angers some people I really thought of it as adding character to the building.

The room was nice sized and clean. The A/C worked great, the bed was super comfortable and the flat screen tv with actual HD programming were all nice touches. The bathroom area was fine with marble showers with decent water pressure. I will say that the carpeting in the room was sporting a few stains that should be addressed.

I did some laundry during my stay and while making my way to the outdoor alcove washer and dryer i passed the pool area. The pool looked inviting and is actually surrounded in a horseshoe pattern with outside entrance rooms. Again nothing that would be built these days but definitely adds character to the experience. The washer and dryer worked well and were only $1.50 each.

I did not try the onsite restaurant but the selection looked ridiculously small and overpriced.

So if you can deal with a total throwback hotel that is clean and had updated, modern amenities I really think you should give this Crowne Plaza a try without fear.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michtraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Every staff member I came across at this hotel was rude. Our rooms were not cleaned. My towels weren't restocked. When we called front desk or room services I was hung up on. The water had one temperature and that was blistering hot. We did not know this when we checked in. So my littlest one burned his hand when washing his hands. Went down stairs and told the staff. They told me my entire family obviously didn't know how to use a sink or shower.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stmck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Stmck5,

I am so sorry that you had such a negative experience at our property. I am surprised that all of your interactions with our team were bad. Most of the feedback I receive from guests is that our team members are quite helpful and positive. If you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I would appreciate any specific feedback so we can address the items quickly and directly. Also, we have double checked the water temperature on all floors and it now appears to be the right temperature for a combination of safety and guest comfort.

Our company was hired just eight weeks ago to take over management of the Crowne Plaza OKC. We are excited to be in this market and are committed to making this an award-winning hotel. We appreciate your feedback as we address the current operations and plan for even more improvements in the facility. You may have noticed that the lobby and restaurant have been totally renovated in the past few months and our guestrooms all have flat-screen TV's, complimentary wi-fi, and many other amenities. More upgrades are coming quickly.

Again, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel with any other specifics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

During a recent no-notice trip to OKC, the Crowne Plaza (about 10-15 mins drive north of the airport) was one of the few properties available with a reasonable nightly rate. I read a number of mixed reviews about the property, but most were concerning. I decided to give it a try.

The pros:

- Recent renovations to the rooms, lobby, and dining area
- GREAT pool area
- FRIENDLY staff and service
- Clean, quiet rooms with comfortable beds and amenities
- Good location in the northern part of OKC

The cons:

- Although it has been recently renovated, it still had the "old" feeling to it
- Would like to see the Club Lounge open every day (it appeared to only be open on Tuesday's)
- Limited selection at the bar and breakfast buffet (they actually do eggs to order, but you have to ask...it's not advertised)
- Would not have paid for the breakfast buffet (luckily mine was free as a Priority Club member)
- Rooms seemed small as compared to other Crowne Plazas and the ceilings tell the story of the property's age

I would tend to agree with other reviews that this property does not stand out as a Crowne Plaza should. The Crowne Plaza name means upscale; this property still has work to do to meet that standard. However, the staff was AMAZING (hats off to Sara for helping me with an early check-in and Toya at the bar!), and it was nice meeting the management staff at the Club Lounge on Tuesday; they are doing all they can to get the property up to Crowne Plaza standards. It was also nice that the gov't rate was available here; always a plus! But overall, I will be hard-pressed to stay here again unless I cannot find availability elsewhere. I may take a chance on it in the future, just to see how the renovations continue. For what I paid, I have no complaints about the value. I would just like to see more of the standard, upscale Crowne Plaza feel about the place. I wish the staff/management well in continued progress with the renovations!

Room Tip: High floor facing south...GREAT views of downtown OKC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sted,

Thank you for such a thorough review and an overall positive rating. Our company was hired just eight weeks ago to take over management of the property - we are excited that you can already see the changes. We are especially thrilled that you had great things to say about our staff. We will be sure to acknowledge Sara and Toya specifically.

Please do give us another try to check up on our progress. The hotel has some new improvements in the works as we speak......thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Oklahoma City
Tower Hotel Oklahoma City
#82 of 147 in Oklahoma City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Founders Tower
Comfort Inn at Founders Tower
#80 of 147 in Oklahoma City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq
Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma Cit...
#78 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#48 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City ...
#18 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Oklahoma City-Northwest
Hampton Inn Oklahoma City-Northw...
#22 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City

Property: Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City
Address: 2945 NW Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK 73112-5463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 147 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City hotel, The Place to Meet! The Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City hotel is a full service hotel centrally located to nearby attractions such as Frontier City Amusement Park, Whitewater Bay, National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum, ASA Softball Hall of Fame, and the OKC Zoo. We are moments away from downtown OKC, Bricktown Entertainment District, and the Ford Center - home of the OKC Thunder and the Big 12 Championships. We are also located near several businesses including Chesapeake Energy, IBM, Integris Baptist Hospital, MidFirst Bank, Express Employment Professionals, and Schlumberger. Our beautiful hotel underwent a $4 million renovation and features free wireless Internet, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program and 7 Layers of Comfort. We invite you to enjoy one of our 218 newly renovated hotel rooms and 13,000 square feet of meeting space. The Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City Hotel is The Place to Meet for all of your conference, seminar, and social events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Oklahoma City Hotel Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing