We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for breakfast”
Review of Nic's Grill

Nic's Grill
Ranked #1 of 1,647 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for breakfast”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bring cash! This place is one of the best small diners I have ever been to. The atmosphere was incredible but I did not have any cash on me. Fortunately, two amazing people picked up my tab. I think this just goes to show you what type of place this is. Highly recommended!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Giro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    50
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Burger”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nic's is open for Breakfast and Lunch, M-F, they close at 2pm., take cash. Also very small place, when I say small it's only a couple of steps to counter once in the front door. If you are planning on lunch go hungry and early as a line form around 11am.
Just a thought if in a wheelchair, I would order to go, place is to small, however, the food is just as good eating in or taking out!
Good atmosphere, good service, great food and must do at least once, but then you'll want to return! Good Times.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Have to stop here”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second time to eat at Nic's. Very, Very, Very small place. Plan to stand in line for your burger. Only about 15 seats but well worth the wait. Don't plan on eating the rest of the day after this burger. Nic has that grill going with burgers, onions, peppers. Make sure you have everything on your burger and of course have the fresh cut fries.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Best cheeseburger I've had in a long time. Wonderful service and will definitely come back when in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank steveday21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC,Ok
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nic's Experience!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Happened to be in Nic's neighborhood yesterday(Friday) around noon. I've heard about this establishment over the years but timing has never been right. For a restaurant to be open from 7:00 am- 2:00 pm, Monday-Friday is a bit out of the ordinary. At any rate the moon & stars must have aligned themselves perfectly because they were open & I was hungry! There were about a dozen people outside waiting, Nic has music piped outside and the smells emitting from the diner were incredible! It took about 20 minutes to get inside. I was greeted and asked what I wished to order. I went with the Hamburger Combo. I was immediately served my drink. Mind you now I'm still standing between the counter which has around 9 stools, and 8 other patrons eating behind me. I could tell most of the customers were repeats because there is a definite procedure when ordering and they seemed to comprehend it. Thank goodness I was behind a young lady who mentored me through the process. I am an expert at "Processes", Nic has the assembly line process down pat! It's amazing to watch everything being ordered, cooked & delivered properly with nothing being written down! It took another 5-10 minutes to be seated and 3-5 minutes to be served. It is a bit overwhelming to look at all that food! The hamburger probably is a half pounder! I had grilled onions, lettuce, tomato, mayo and mustard and pickles. This thing was huge! Nic had cut it in half to make handling it easier. The burger was JUICY and not overcooked, full of FLAVOR. The beef appeared to be fresh ground. Possibly sirloin? From the juiciness I'd guess an 80/20 blend. The curly fries were freshly turned, you can see him preparing them while he's cooking. They were nice and crisp on the outside, yet the inside had plenty of fresh potato flavor! Back to the experience...you'll get to know the people on either side of you quickly! Salt, ketchup, napkins..what have you are being passed back and forth. When it's time to pay the bill please have cash! Interesting experience, but don't know if I'd go with more than a party of 2!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daniherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nic's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Nic's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing