We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quality in Edmond area”

Ajanta Cuisine of India
Ranked #322 of 1,641 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
652 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Nice quality in Edmond area”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Comfortable seating, broad menu choices, savory spicing, seafood dishes not as good as meat dishes, vegetarian dishes are quite decent. Service can be inattentive at times

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mingfatsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fairly good food. Limited buffet”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The buffet should have a few more items on it. Overall good food and good service. Restaurant needs updating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthTexasStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Regular Indian food...nothing special”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We wanted to try another Indian Restaurant, in a different part of town, and went for dinner to try the menu instead of the buffet after reading The Gazette. We were not impressed with the food, drinks or service. Our waiter was very slow taking the order, brought me a glass of wine that only looking at it I knew it was off...the smell was like vinegar and he should have known that! I told him that I didn't want another one and he brought me another glass with a better wine.
The pappadoms were nice and crispy but the dipping sauces were not good. The tamarind was this watery ketchup sauce and the mint sauce was very mild and not good at all.
We ordered 5 different dishes and two different types of Naan bread. The bread was good but a little doughy, not crispy on the outside. The Palak Paneer was OK but the cheese was a little harder that the usual. The Dhal was average but with good flavor. The Chicken tikka massala and the korma chicken were more like a thick soup with two big pieces of chicken. They serve too much sauce and not enough chicken. The flavor was ok but nothing special. Our friends ordered another chicken with vegetables that don't remember the name and were more vegetables than chicken...I didn't encourage my husband to try dessert.
I don't know how the buffet is but I'm not coming back.
Also they were a little confused with the check and dropped one of the credit cards on the floor until someone sold them that. The owner or manager came to help them with the check which I thought it was funny. I was seated facing them and saw that they were not doing a good job with the bill or managing the credit cards.
I didn't feel like in an Indian Restaurant where you can smell the spices when they are cooking and really taste them in your food!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
193 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Indian food, good service in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Ajanta hides in a not very attractive strip mall at the SW corner of Penn & 122nd., but once found the experience is good. The lunch buffet is typical and fine, but for the best experience, go in the evening and order from the menu. The website contains a menu.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soonerair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“Will never go there again”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Tried their chicken curry and mutton briyani, my god, the good taste terrible. I don't know if they made it fresh or stale food, no taste nothing. Have tried their buffet long time back and never dare to go again for last many months. Thought of trying today thinking that they might have changed in quality, its still the same crap. Very pricey and the quality/quantity doesn't match the price and more over they have very few items for buffet. Will never risk to go there again.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank googleajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajanta Cuisine of India also viewed

 
Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to Ajanta Cuisine of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing