We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the hype!”

Cattlemen's Steakhouse
Ranked #8 of 1,656 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Reviewed on The Food Network and The Travel Channel, I was anxious to see if it was really all that, and it was. I had the Presidential T-Bone, a 20 oz piece of juicy goodness. All I can say is, "Wow!"

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cwdonahoe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    504
    254
    62
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No idea what all the fuss is about”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is all about hype. The food is okay, definitely not terrible but a below average steak house when compared to its peer group. If you are from out of town, please know that there are a dozen better places to get a steak in OKC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Oklahoma City History”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

In town for business and visited on 9/4/13 after having read about this historical restaurant in the Stockyards area of OKC. I also read other TripAdvisor reviews and after wading thru a few, still wanted to try it. I knew it was not going to be fancy (or have mass amounts of sides, desserts, etc.) and it was exactly that. Here, it's all about the beef. And isn't that really what a place steeped in OKC history should be? If you are looking for a Del Frisco's or another high end steakhouse experience, keep driving; that's not what this place is about. What you will find is a perfectly cooked 20oz T-Bone ("the Presidential Cut"), very flavorful and spiced just right. A baked potato, salad and a side of mushrooms finished off a simple yet nicely done meal. I passed on dessert only because I was stuffed from the beef! I sat on the "Diner" side of the restaurant. Service was nice and efficient. Don't miss this place, you won't be disappointed. Especially if you know ahead of time what to expect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madhungarian_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really?!?”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I don't understand the reviews I've read about this place or the glowing review from the hotel concierge, which convinced me to eat at this local legend, as to why they are still open.
Actually, I do know. They are open because history precedes it. It's not about the food, it's that it's been there a long time. And if this is what the "locals" consider great food, I feel sorry for them.
This is a cafe in the worst sense.
I've provided a picture of the salad, which says it all. Iceberg lettuce w/ a single cherry tomato drowned in a glop of tasteless trans fat dressing. I got the ribeye with a baked potato. Nearly impossible to screw up that cut of meat and vegetable... But they succeeded. Steak was mediocre at best and the potato was inedible as it was over baked.
Skip this place. Make them better by not showing up just because they are there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“They know steak”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Not a fancy restaurant but a really good steakhouse. Good salads and rolls, wonderful steaks. We've be going to this steakhouse for 30 years. The breakfast that they serve is great as well especially on weekends when they have a buffet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paladine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattlemen's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cattlemen's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing