We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty delicious.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #44 of 1,627 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent service, good food, and walkable from pretty much anywhere in Bricktown. We love this place!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blissfultravelersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    86
    27
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I'm sad I didn't know about this place sooner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I always had seen signs for Abuelos, but I have my Mexican restaurants, why would I need another? I went in there with some family and it was phenomenal!!! The decor itself was stunning with all of the plentiful exotic plants EVERYWHERE! The food was out of this world! They bring you 4 salsas to start with all of which are amazing. We ordered the queso...queso is queso...but not this! This was some of the best queso I could ever imagine! The menu had unique items and catered to vegetarians. The sides were also unique and oh so good! The service kind of sucked though, he was nice and brought what we needed, but was VERY slow. PLEASE go try this place if you haven't already!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brandOWNage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

It can be like everything else downtown and get busy but all in all it is normally good... The service can be bad but the food is normally good

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in OKC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our go to place for Mexican food. Not really Tex-Mex but always something delicious to choose from. The downtown and north side are the two we frequent and the fajita chicken nachos are the best in town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyS12601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always great food and nice place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I love the chips and salsa and the cold beer. The food is good here as well. It seems that all the servers help each other and you don't have to wait for refills etc.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank boyzonlymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing