We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip and refreshing!”
Review of The Mule

The Mule
Ranked #18 of 1,641 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OKC's Tastiest Hangout! The Mule is a mix of 2 wonderful things.. Quality drinks, and gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches! We LOVE OKC!!
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hip and refreshing!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stumbled upon this place as our son was moving in to local university. Really hip and cool interior, my guess an up and coming area, THe Plaza. We had a type of battered gruyere cheese fried, so light and tasty! Salads were fresh, homemade dressings. The sandwiches, esp the Cortez (a pulled pork with jalepenos ) was one of the best sandwiches I have had anywhere. The toasted turkey, on wheat, was great as well. Too full for dessert, wish we could have tried one. Service was very attentive but not bothering,and hovering which we love. Friendly cool bar area, love this place and would definitely go back. Great service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 196CaroleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    66
    17
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The only reason I hate to review, is I want to keep this gem to myself!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Pub atmosphere has sandwiches, soups & salads, and a great selection of beers and drinks to wash it all down.
My favorite is the BCLT with tomato soup. The soup is thick and spicy, full of flavor & perfect for dipping the melted cheese & bacon sandwich.
My son loves the Macaroni Pony. It sounds a little strange, but the flavors compliment each other well. Very casual, with friendly servers. A diamond in the rough!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronchomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
439 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is one of those establishments that when you pull up your first inclination is to keep driving. DO NOT. The service and food were both wonderful. The menu features a variety of very unique sandwich options. And everyone in our group were very satisfied with the end product. The building itself is outdated and appears to be an old apartment building. The inside area is rather small but features a nice bar area and 15-20 tables for dining. On our particular visit, we were seated quickly and the server was very attentive to the needs of the table. The AC seemed to have trouble cooling the place probably partly due to age and partly due to it being 105 this particular day. The quality and variety of sandwiches is the reason to go and the reason to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magicandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a very ecclectic experience. When we saw the outside of the building, we almost didn't go in. That would have been a real shame. Between us, we had the fancy pants, the big a$$ grilled cheese, the BLTCA (BLT add cheese and avacado) and the Cortez. They were all fabulous. The grilled cheese is very spicy and the onion rings crisp. The dessert was just so, so for us--we got the pbj thing. Others rave about it, so it might just be that we favor things like creme brûlée! The atmosphere is a bit dark and ecclectic, but we love new experiences and found it fun. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Froglovinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
174 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Was okay.....”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We tried this place out just for something different. My husband ordered the grill cheese, and I ordered the H.A.M. They were just okay, definitely not the best sandwich I have ever had. We made the mistake of sitting by the bar, which was a direct shot to the kitchen. While we waited for our table, we watched them bare handing every ingredient for your sandwich, and cleaning in between... then back to bare handing the food. May not be a big deal to some, but freaked us out that they were cleaning counters/utensils and never washed in between or wore any type of gloves. The bar area is neat, and if we we went back it would be for that area only...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mule also viewed

 
Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to The Mule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing