We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in NE Oklahoma City”

Oklahoma Railway Museum
Ranked #37 of 126 things to do in Oklahoma City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come spend an afternoon at the Oklahoma Railway Museum. There's something for everyone! Come see freight cars, passenger cars, and even a real steam engine on display. And best of all, you can ride the train! Trains operate first and third Saturdays - April to August. We're just minutes from the Interstate, so come join in the fun at the Oklahoma Railway Museum. Our museum is open every Thursday, Friday, & Saturday 9:00 to 5:00. Admission to the museum is free.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in NE Oklahoma City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

A fun place to go and spend the morning or afternoon with your family or friends. The restored 1890's Depot and benches, with the 1940's passenger train parked at the platform, takes you back to a time when things were more pleasant. There is a miniature train, with lots of things to watch for the little ones, too, and a playground. Clean restroom facilities as well.
No admission fee to the grounds and for viewing the artifacts. The train ride does require a ticket.
Train rides are offered the first and third Saturdays, April through October. Also a Christmas Train.
Birthday parties and other special events can be arranged here too.
Located conveniently to the Oklahoma City Zoo, 45th Infantry Museum, Cowboy Hall of Fame, Firefighters Museum, Softball Hall of Fame, Remington Park, and other nearby attractions. Just west off NE 36th and Interstate 35.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outside only - A fun little stop on a road trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We accidentally found this museum while exploring the city during a weekend trip. It was a beautiful, warm, sunny Sunday afternoon, so we spent a while exploring just the outside of the museum and taking fun pictures. The museum has some nice grounds and several restored cars. It's practically inside the park; I could imagine locals hanging out there on similarly beautiful Sunday afternoons while taking a nice walk down the trail.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, OK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day out With Thomas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wasn't as many activities as I thought there would be, and the museum part wasn't open, but we loved the train ride!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Choo-Choo & Chugga Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprized by this gem of a museum. The museum & grounds are free to enjoy and every First & Third Saturday(during Apr.-Sept.) they offer train rides at a modest price. The ride is a wonderful experience, it could be a little longer but is enjoyable and thrilling for kids & adults. The pieces of railway history on display are educational & well maintained, also brought back some memories. Great place in my opinion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank anasonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Grandson's Birthday he loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

One of my long term acquaitances, Bob Hussey Inc, a railroad contractor, started this museum up . it is fantastic, my grandson's birthday party was in a railroad car. We also went for a train ride, and he loved it as well. There are also stations and all types of locomotives. A must see

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oklahoma Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oklahoma Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing