We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quick stop or as long as you want” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum

Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum stands as a symbol of strength in the wake of unspeakable violence. Visit the Memorial Museum to experience the brutality of the Oklahoma City bombing, and the tenderness of the response. Share our dream of a world without violence and terrorism.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A quick stop or as long as you want”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We did not have time to visit the museum or come by during the day. So glad we took the time in the cold drizzly evening. The parking lot was open in these after hours and free. All is amply lit. If that is what 168 ( I think the number is correct) chairs representing people looks like then .....
By day this must be a good place to stop and rest as it is a park setting where you can push a stroller or walk with children. ( note there is a water feature)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,932
    312
    47
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely Memorial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We did not have time to visit the Museum, but the Memorial Park is beautiful. The reflection pool is haunting. The chairs representing the loss of adults and children on that day is very moving, and the Park Ranger was very informative. The handprint wall was also very touching.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cacobun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The outside exhibit is touching even at night. But the museum experience can be very over-whelming! It starts out slowly, then builds in intensity as you go through. It's very well done. We just were not able to complete it in one day due to the memories, sights & sounds. I think 3 times would be needed to capture the entire experience. Now I admit we had connections to those areas so our emotions were involved. But definitely an historical site to visit. This is a part of the National Park Service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We only visited the Memorial and did not go into the Museum. The memorial was amazing and left me speechless, I can only imagine the emotions that would be captured within the museum. The memorial is a wonderful reflection on those that were impacted on the day of the OKC Bombing. The reflecting pool is laid where the street once was and there are memorial chairs for all the lives lost. This area is in the city but when you are in this area it seems like everything else around you just stops. This is well worth the stop if you are in the area. This is a memorial done correctly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank s246002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great memorial park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went to the memorial park, didn't have a chance to go into the museum. the park itself was very pretty, and yet emotional. The reflection pool, time gate, and the empty chairs made us feel that we were there when it happened. Especially when you walk outside and look at those tributes the family/friends/relatives place to honor their beloved ones. I plan to go back into the museum sometime this spring.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank erianaasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing