We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly unclean”

Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Oklahoma City
BROKEN BOW
1 review
“Terribly unclean”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had to pay at an outside window next to the highway, and couldn't understand what the woman was even saying. Parking was extremely tight and we were woken up all night by screaming in the parking lot. The sheets had stains and the bath tub had bugs in it. Not to mention the beds were here inches off the floor and the pillows were no more than half an inch thick. The main thing this place needs is some attention and elbow grease.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank REBECCA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8fairgrounds, Owner at Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this and let is know how your stay was while you were a guest at our hotel. We like to hear feedback from our guest wheather it be negative or positive. It shows us the areas where we need improvement at our hotel. I do want to apologize for the window that you have to check in through between the hours of 11pm and 6am. But we do that for the safety of our desk clerk. Not saying that the area is bad or not safe but it does help our clerks at night feel more secure. We have been putting in alot of work to get the hotel in good condition. We have a new housekeeping staff that has been working very hard to make sure the rooms are in satisfactory condition when you check in. I do apologize for the stay that you had last time you was here and would like to see you give us another chance. We have since painted all rooms as well and would love for you to see the changes we have made with our super 8 location. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the near future if you so choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    13
    20
    43
See reviews for
33
16
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We did not read the reviews of this place before we booked.We stayed one night 28th September 2012 - bad mistake. The first room we got the keys for had the most overpowering smell of urine. I returned to reception and requested another room. This appeared ok however I moved the small bedside table to plug in the charger and the dust and grime was inches thick. The sheets had dubious looking marks on them too. We do not criticise anywhere unnecessarily but this place wants serious cleaning done.
Sleep was next to impossible as the room at one side seemed to behaving some sort of party. People were outside most of the night shouting talking and throwing beer bottles about. One car had its windscreen put through and one girl appeared to have a lot of visitors to greet upand down the stairs all night.
In our rush to vacate ASAP I left my I pad charger in the room. I called the motel and was told I would have to call back later. I was unable to do this so emailed them . After 3 emailsI got a reply saying merely "wrong email address" I emailed back and said that was the email on my bill still o reply so Iguess housekeeping must have wanted to keep it. Very poor all round and I could not recommend in any way !!! AVOID AVOID AVOID !!!! If I could have given no stars that was what it would get.

Room Tip: Go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentiesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8fairgrounds, Owner at Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am sorry to read that your stay at our hotel was the least bit accomodating but, I do want to say thank you for taking the time to let us know exactly how your stay turned out to be. It helps us get a look at what really needs some improvement at our hotel. We recently have went in and all rooms have been painted and the carpets have been shampooed. We also have taken on some new housecleaning ladies that seem to be doing an excellent job at making sure the rooms are in satisfactory condition and ready for the next customer to rent. We have also been keeping a close watch to the customers and the people they have come visit. If we see someone that doesnt belong here we make them leave. If a room has too much traffic we will not let them stay. We have been working really hard to get the place cleaned up. I am sorry that your stay turned out so bad. That was deffinately not our intentions. Customer Satisfaction means alot and we are working really hard to make sure our customers leave here satisfied, I hope you would consider coming back and taking a look at the things we have done to clean the motel up. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you like being kept up all night and and being surrounded by drug dealers and hookers, this is your motel. dirty rooms, systemized horn honking with loud yelling until the sun comes up, I highly don't recommend!

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcandrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8fairgrounds, Owner at Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I would like to say thank you for being so honest and letting us know how your stay was while you were a guest at our hotel. I read and take into consideration all the things that the guests say and write in their reviews. This is how we know how our guests feel and what they see while they are residing at our hotel. Since your last stay here we have made alot of improvements at our location. We do not allow hoolers to be here and if we suspect that they are they will be asked to leave our location. We also have been keeping a close eye for drug activity. If we see too much traffic or we suspect that there is drug activity going on then they will be asked to leave our location as well. So far we seemed to have cleaned up the area pretty good. After hours we also monitor the parking lots to make sure that noone is out there wondering around thats not supposed to be. I apologize for all the activity that was going on during your last stay. We value you as a guest at our motel and would hope that you would be willing to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My friends and I were in town for pride 2012. So the location was excellent for that purpose. As far as otherwise, it is a questionable area but it worked. Room was clean and good sized. Comfy bed. Light in the bathroom didn't work so you had to leave the door open, and the a/c didn't work so we pretty much burned up the entire time we were at the room. The motel six 2 doors down looked much nicer. The price was very reasonable if you can get past the bad aspects.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flgcas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8fairgrounds, Owner at Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how accomodating we were for you while you stayed at our hotel. You let us know the negative and the positive. Of course we love to hear the positive about our place and not so much the negative. But the negative is the ones we put our main focus on because those are the areas that need the improvement to make our guests happy and satisfied when they leave here. I see that there were only a few minor issues for you while you were a guest here. We have been checking the rooms periodically to look for lights that are burnt out or missing or the housekeepers notify us when they see it needs replaced. We also have been checking to see that all appliances work that are in the room as well as the TV having a working remote control that is programmed already to that TV. Our goal is for you to leave our hotel satisfied and wanting to come back again. I encourage you if you are passing through to stop and see the changes that have been made. We have recently painted all of the rooms on the inside and shampooed all the carpets in the rooms. We look forward to seeing you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loon Op Zand, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is not the place to stay for a romantic getaway but OK for just an overnight stay like we needed while cruising Route 66. Guess the USD 50 rate was fairly reasonable for Oklahoma City. The motel is located on the original route 66 - which is a multi lane highway now so not much vintage here but a typical business are with car dealerships and the usual fast food chains. Continental breakfast was limited to some cereals, coffee and juice. I could imagine some people would consider the area less safe, but still acceptable for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coffeyville, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was one of the worst hotels I have EVER stayed at! It was filthy! The tub was black and still had hair in it, and the coffee pot was the same color as the tub. We got in late, so I was too tired to go somewhere else. We called to ask for more towels in our room, and he said that he would try to get ahold of the housekeeping, and he would call me back. Needless to say, we never got a call and never saw another towel. The towels in the room were stained black, the bedding was dirty and had cigarette holes in it, the floor had obviously not been vaccumed in quite awhile. We got up and were out of the room so early because it was so disgusting, we just decided to go sit in a restaurant. Do not stay here, you may have "something" gross greet you when you open the door!

Room Tip: Have a backup plan if you decide to book a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have nothing good to say about this place at all. The room was very run down, ugly and dirty. Unfortunately we got in very late and were too tired to check the rooms before paying. We pretty much dropped our stuff, brushed our teeth and went to bed. Stains on the walls, cigarette holes in the blankets, dingy mattress, dirty carpet, the shower curtain looks like it was used as a painters drop cloth, I could go on. And here's the icing on the cake: at 8:30 AM, while still in bed (we didn't get to sleep until 4 AM) I hear a knock on the door immediately followed by the door opening! It was housekeeping. If it wasn't for the chain I had put on the door she would have walked in on us sleeping! Later, at 10:50 AM, another housekeeping lady used her key to open the door without even bothering to knock! Unbelievable. Bottom line: DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberryrhubarbpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
7.5 mi away
Super 8 Oklahoma City
Super 8 Oklahoma City
#61 of 150 in Oklahoma City
330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lincoln Inn Hotel & Suites
Lincoln Inn Hotel & Suites
#101 of 150 in Oklahoma City
45 reviews
4.0 mi away
Studio 6 Oklahoma City - Airport
Studio 6 Oklahoma City - Airport
#95 of 150 in Oklahoma City
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#86 of 150 in Oklahoma City
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oklahoma City - NW Expressway
Extended Stay America - Oklahoma...
#67 of 150 in Oklahoma City
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Oklahoma City Northwest
WoodSpring Suites Oklahoma City ...
#84 of 150 in Oklahoma City
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds

Property: Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds
Address: 2821 Northwest 39th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Oklahoma Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oklahoma City Super Eight
Oklahoma City Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing