We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Away! Run Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq
Ranked #83 of 149 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Run Away! Run Away!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The lobby looked decent, but then I got to the room. After 30 minutes the heater STILL was not producing heat, and it had a terrible clanking noise. I asked the front desk for a different room, which was grudgingly provided. When I went inside of it, the bathroom was absolutely filthy, including multiple hairs in the bathtub under a mat that was black with grime. Got refund and went to the Hampton across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEOKC-GM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to share your encounter regarding our hotel. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your experience with us and regrettable the room condition you received was less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your comments and will share this with my front desk and housekeeping teams. Your feedback is of great importance to me and allows me to monitor and improve our services.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts,

Samantha Eggleston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
8
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
341 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent hotel, convenient and reasonably priced, quiet, close to everything in OKC. Have stayed here many times. Better than Hilton next door. Breakfast is good and the area is kept clean. Very ample parking and right off main roads....

Room Tip: Get backside of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This property seemed fairly new or newly renovated. It is in close to several restaurants, a mall, and not far from where we and had an event in a gallery district the Paseo. Breakfast was also included, though there is no restaurant on the property. A sports bar at a hotel next door, was where they'd send guests who asked where the lounge was, just a short walk over there.
Even though this isn't a full service hotel it fit our needs as we left there early in the am each day and got back late each evening.

Room Tip: rooms on the back of the hotel are quiet, front faces street and highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checotah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have always been very happy with the accomodations. I recently stayed 3 nights and on 2 of those nights had to park in the street. The young man working the front desk said "I can guarantee, well almost guarantee that your car will not be hit; we have customers park in the street all of the time". I was not happy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildwestmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I love this hotel. I stay here quite often. This staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I come to OKC frequently and I enjoy my stay here. I have stayed at several other HIX locations but this one is just right. I had one problem several months back with parking but the adjacent hotel was under construction. This area is ideal for staying a long time as I usually am here for a week. Location is near Penn Square mall and other good places.

Has a small business center but they spared no luxury with a color printer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullfrog4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

First, let me say that I am "regular" at HIE hotels -- I find them to be generally very good for all the aspects of lodging that we seek. And as far as the room itself goes, this hotel was no exception -- in fact it was just recently renovated, and it looks sparkling new and clean. Everything in the room and hallways and lobby was prim and perfect.

However, even with all that being said, I would be hard pressed to recommend this one to a fellow traveler, for three reasons:
(1) When I walked up to the desk, they immediately told me that they were oversold for the night, and could not provide our room type per our reservation; they did however give us a handicapped room on the first floor. Such rooms are great for the handicapped, but lack some of the normal nice features in a regular room. And the rubber mat under the bottom sheet made for a hot restless night.
(2) The breakfast room is one of the smallest I have ever seen in a HIE hotel. Only seven tables -- three of which were about the size of a pizza pan. Some people had to stand around and try and eat breakfast, or sit at one of the lobby couches -- although we admittedly came at just the wrong time -- when a sports team was there in full force. It's a real challenge climbing over those gym bags to get to and from the food counter.
(3) Parking was atrocious; we had to park on the street about a half block away. Management will tell you that part of their parking lot is being used by construction stuff for a new hotel next to them. (A competitor uses your parking lot for their construction needs -- geez!) Nevertheless, even with those spots added back, their parking lot still looks rather small and insufficient to me.

So, with all that in mind, I would again say that it's a very new and attractive place, in a nice location too ........ but just "underpowered and under-designed" in some key logistical functions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oklahoma City-Northwest
Hampton Inn Oklahoma City-Northw...
#25 of 149 in Oklahoma City
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City ...
#20 of 149 in Oklahoma City
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#48 of 149 in Oklahoma City
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Founders Tower
Comfort Inn at Founders Tower
#88 of 149 in Oklahoma City
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oklahoma City - NW Expressway
Extended Stay America - Oklahoma...
#65 of 149 in Oklahoma City
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Oklahoma City - Northwest
Hyatt Place Oklahoma City - Nort...
#26 of 149 in Oklahoma City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq
Address: 2811 NW Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK 73112-7049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 149 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oklahoma City-Penn Square is just minutes from the Fairgrounds, Cowboy Hall of Fame, Bricktown, and Downtown OKC. Located between Integris Baptist Medical Center and Penn Square shopping mall. Stay in one of our King Studies, King Suites, King Jacuzzi Suites or 2-room Executive Jacuzzi Suites. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Oklahoma City, OK and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq Hotel Oklahoma City
Holiday Inn Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing