We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic!”

Museum of Osteology
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Osteology is "America's Only Skeleton Museum". The Museum of Osteology, located in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, is a unique educational experience. Focusing on the form and function of the skeletal system, this 7000 square ft. museum displays hundreds of skulls and skeletons from all corners of the world. Exhibits include adaptation, locomotion, classification and diversity of the vertebrate kingdom. Open Monday-Friday 8am-5pm Saturday 11am-5pm Sunday 1pm-5pm.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been several times and it still hasn't gotten old! It's a small building but they PACK that awesome stuff in there, not to mention the rad gift store that sells real bones, skeletons, fossils, the works. The price is I think $6 each, very excellent for an inexpensive day out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank brandOWNage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    767
    150
    27
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun learning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Bones, bones and more bones. Great place for family, school trips, and church groups. Has a picnic area located in back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tammy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
810 reviews
382 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“A small museum filled with knowledge, bones and fun facts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had seen reviews about this museum so I decided it was time to go see for myself. The entrance fee is very reasonable ($6) and you can get AAA discounts. They also offer discounts for children and military.

The building is not huge but it is two stories. The exhibits are full of the skeletons of different animals which are arranged by family. There is a wealth of information about the animals, adaptations etc. If you take the time to read everything you will certainly learn many interesting and informative facts. The hominid exhibit is composed of primarily replicas of original pieces that are scattered all over the world at different museums. This hominid fossil exhibit is very interesting as you get to see replicas of most of the different types of hominids that have been found so far, this includes a full size reproduction of Lucy's skeleton.

The first floor has skeletons of some large animals such as elephants, giraffes, rhinos and a very large whale.

Don't miss the video about how they prepare the bones for display. This is upstairs by the TV.

There is a gift shop full of interesting and out of the ordinary items. You can buy a piece of a real meteorite or buy a skull among other items.

I and my husband were both very impressed with the amount of information available with each exhibit. Look carefully so you don't miss any exhibit. A great place for kids and adults alike and the quality of the skeletons was very good. I highly recommend this museum if you are in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went here with my mother when she visited us from Florida and we all really enjoyed it. Don't let the small outside trick you into thinking it's not worth the visit! As soon as you open the door you won't regret the visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I wasn't sure...just went along to appease my husband....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

...boy was I surprised how much I enjoyed this hidden gem! I spent most of the hour oohing and ahhhing over skeletons....every type of skeleton you could imagine. If you want a glimpse into the experience, search for the museum on YouTube. They have several videos posted and they were also featured on the History Channel (the episode is played on a loop inside the museum). Step outside the box and visit this uniquely intriguing place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katwoodx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Osteology also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Osteology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing