We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indoor Fun and Exercise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocktown Climbing Gym - CLOSED

Rocktown Climbing Gym
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rocktown Climbing Gym is the ultimate rock climbing destination in Oklahoma City. Featuring indoor and outdoor top rope and lead climbs up to 110 feet, bouldering, auto belays, and instruction. The "grain silo" structure and repurposing of the facility has led Rocktown to be named one of the most unique rock gyms in the United States. We cater not only to the die-hard expert climber but to families and those of all abilities seeking adventure. Rocktown Climbing Gym is a social enterprise with Rocktown Youth Mentoring, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. "RYM" serves youth by cultivating character through mentoring and adventure. At-risk youth participate at no cost. Every time you climb at Rocktown Gym, you are directly contributing to a program that speaks into the lives of the youth in our community. Your patronage helps to fund Rocktown Youth Mentoring, as Rocktown's fee based services will help RYM achieve its goal of becoming a self-sustaining nonprofit organization. Rocktown Climbing Gym possesses some of the tallest climbing gym routes in the United States. We are housed in a grain elevator with climbs up to 90 feet tall and 140 in total length. We have over 65 routes inside the silos including a finger crack, hand crack, chimney route, a route that finishes on the ceiling (100 ft off the ground), multi pitch routes, 13 outside routes, and two bouldering walls Including a 60-degree bouldering wall. We also currently have 5 auto belay systems that allow a climber to climb routes without needing a partner. Our routes vary in difficulty to allow the beginning climber to expert climber find something to challenge them.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
548 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Great Indoor Fun and Exercise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

A neat place to try your skills at rock climbing. For all skill levels, including those lacking, you won't fell like an outsider. They have all the gear for you and your family. Rock climbing in a grain elevator near Bricktown - only in OKC!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RikiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the best gym to rock climb in here in Oklahoma. The staff are helpful, and its easy to go in medium to large groups.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessAli1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Always a great time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Although I do not climb, my daughter has been climbing here for the past couple of years since she was 6yrs. old. I am simply along to belay for her and watch how she is so fearless. The staff here is always friendly and will bend over backwards to help you. If there is anything you need, just ask. It's a safe and fun place for kids and adults. If you're a first timer, there will be a short mandatory introduction class to make you familiar with the equipment and safety procedures. All the equipment you will need is available to rent for a small fee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Soonersports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great break from the museums and other sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent a few days during spring break in OKC with my kids ages 6-12. We had visited other attractions such as the science museum, but wanted a physical activity. This was a great opportunity for that. The staff was friendly, quickly outfitted us with gear and provided a 15-minute training introduction. We were then on our own to climb. My 6-year old was a bit young, though still had fun especially on the training wall. The other kids did great and had a lot of fun. Since you have to be 14 or older to be the belayer, I couldn't climb since my wife was not along on this trip and therefore it also made it a little slower for one kid to climb at a time. We spent about 3 hours at which point everyone was tired. It was a great experience and I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New heights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Once aquatinted to the silo, adventure is yours. There are over 24 tracks of fun. Appropriate for any level from beginner to expert. There's no air conditioning or heater; that being said it has extreme temps in the hotter and colder months. In the winter, the put up a fence on the outside and spray water to create ice climbing. Pretty cool for all ages.

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocktown Climbing Gym also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing