We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive”

National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A massive museum known for its Western art.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This museum is out of the downtown area--we took a taxi since we were staying and Brick Town and there really isn't a need for a car it was $20 so $40 round trip for two but the museum was worth that and the admission. It is really big so plan on at least two hours they do have a gift shop and café.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sissy7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,229
    298
    57
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You’ll need two days to do it Justice”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very well done and you will want to visit all the exhibits, plus eat in the great cafe there. We were here years ago and it has been enlarged ten times since then. Kids would love it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jriley7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“A Museum That The Kids Would Also Like”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I went to this museum and found it to be very interesting. We paid $21.00 for admission since we found a coupon on the internet (normal admission for 2 adults is $25). After paying admission and receiving a map, we were greeted by an elderly volunteer. He proceeded to tell us where everything was on the map – I let him go through his talk since it seemed to give him purpose. Finally, we set out to explore the museum. The first site that one sees when entering the front doors in the massive statue titled “End Of The Trail”. You will have probably seen the likeness used for a variety of signs and products as the statue has been commercialized by everyone, it seems. We ventured past a special exhibit about the Otoe Missouria tribe and entered the replica of an old West town. Kids really enjoy this part of the museum. I will warn you that there are a number of alarms to avoid tripping. I tripped one when I reached my camera passed the bar to get a closer picture of the liquor bottles. This happens quite often and the security guard will explain where the alarms are and how not to trip anymore of them.

There are many galleries of people, guns, tools, and other items, that illustrate life in the old West. One gallery is devoted to Western movies, and have exhibits that feature items from John Wayne, Glenn Ford, Roy Rogers, etc. Another gallery celebrates the American sport of rodeo. Other galleries focus on military, Native-Americans, and people traveling West. Plan to spend at least 2 hours.

There is a restaurant called Persimmon Hill that seemed to have reasonable prices for an eating place at a museum. Photography is allowed in most galleries and will be indicated on the map. The gift shop is extremely high in price for many of the items – as you would expect.

TIP: Google search for a discount coupon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AlphaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent Museum”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This museum is very well done. It covers all aspects of cowboys (and Indians). There were paintings, bronzes, saddles, spurs, Indian attire, a typical Western town, and a feature about cowboys in the movies, to name a few. We had a most enjoyable visit. Inside hallways were clean and bright. The docents were helpful and were enjoying speaking with people. Don't miss it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDave72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,533 reviews
718 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 945 helpful votes
“Cowboys galore!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our next stop is the National Cowboy Hall of Fame. We distinctly remember visiting the place when they opened it, in the early 80’s. It had a pair of John Wayne’s silver revolvers and a framed letter in which the Duke was advising them that his accountant needed their non-for-profit tax I.D. We buy tickets and I ask them in what year they opened the Museum. “1965” is the answer. I try again, “No, no, it was somewhere in the early 80’s, maybe?” “1965”.

We realize that the museum is now much bigger and better, the Duke’s letter is gone but a lot more of his guns and movie outfits are hosted here now. Plus some Western Art and pictures and stories of famous cowboys. On the way out, there is a new gal at the Information Desk. I try again: “What year was this museum open?” She is sure that it was 1959. That is Oklahoma for you. We buy “COLT, an American Legend” and a DVD with “The Shootist” in the museum gift shop and proceed to our hotel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing