We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to take kids of all ages.”

Science Museum Oklahoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Science Museum Oklahoma, the state's premier destination for family fun, houses over eight acres of hands-on science experiences and thousands of space, aviation and cultural artifacts. With brand new exhibits, the excitement of live entertainment shows and a newly-renovated Science Floor, Science Museum Oklahoma rocks. As the state's only physical science museum and a Smithsonian Affiliate, Science Museum Oklahoma reveals the wonder and relevance of science in our everyday lives.
Independence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to take kids of all ages.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We really enjoyed the Planetarium and the Mind Games section. The price was pretty reasonable. We were pleasantly surprised at all the exhibits they had. A great place to go on a hot day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    167
    38
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Museum! A BIG surprise!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are members of the Perot Science Museum in Dallas, We recently traveled to Turner Falls, OK, and decided to drive the extra hour or so to OK City to see this museum (based on a tip from a friend). We had reciprocity with our Perot membership so entrance was free.

Wow, were we impressed. While some of the exhibits could use some updating, we were totally surprised at the size of this place and the breadth of the exhibits. It went on and on, for rooms and rooms, with lots of open space, nice flow between sections, even a large theater for science demo show. My boys especially loved the Segway driving section, the science section upstairs, the 3 floor corkscrew slide, flight simulator and the science show. They had a few sections under construction, so we are hoping to visit again next year and see what's new.

Even though we did not have to pay, I think the entrance fee is well worth it We arrived at 1:30 and stayed until it closed at 5 (weekday)...we could have easily spent all day there, maybe even two. I'm so glad we made the drive north to visit this museum.

Free parking, cafe on site, lots of restrooms. Highly recommend for kids of all ages. Travel tip: this museum in not located downtown, as we expected. It sits a few miles northeast of downtown, which threw us, but just follow your map...easy to find.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank confetti70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adair, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome museum!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've been going to the Science Museum since I was a kid and it was called the Omniplex, and I'm happy to take my kids there now. It takes a minimum of 3-4 hours to get through, there are so many hands on exhibits and interactive areas. We also love the planetarium show, it is always a relaxing way to end a day of exploring the museum. We most recently went last week and my kids especially loved "investigating" the crime scene and forensic lab area, and the room with all of the things to tinker with like lego cars, cups to stack, etc. I love the things that have been there since I was a kid like the giant mouth model and the earthquake simulator.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best science museum”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We have been to a lot of children museums all over the country, and the one in Oklahoma City is the best so far. It is huge and you can do all kinds of experiments. Also, it has a science show live and a mascot, Otto, that is all over the place. Even little kids can learn and enjoy science facts. You can take a small Segway ride or go into a space ship simulator. You can experiment with wind, optical illusions, gravity, weather, electricity, etc. There is a space room with astronaut costumes, and things they used on Mir, Apollo, etc. and more experiments. Also, there is a gymnastics room. A working hot air balloon. A dinosaur skeletons. A collection of planes and a collection of bikes. An old train and a huge train table. A play area made mostly of natural materials ( wood and metal). An enclosed water and play area. Even a nursery room and a play area for babies. And everywhere very nice people. The price is somehow high, but I think it is worth it. Getting a membership is the best deal. We ended up going at least 10 times over a half year and every time we paid the door tickets, which ended up costing us a small fortune.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun for kids”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We go to the Science museum every time we are in OKC. We take our grandchildren ages 2 and 4 1/2. They can spends hours there just enjoying everything. It's a great place and safe for small children

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_Traveler33012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Science Museum Oklahoma also viewed

 

Been to Science Museum Oklahoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing