We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dead in the morning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bricktown

Bricktown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The former site of Buffalo Bill Cody's Wild West Show is today the location of a massive tourist redevelopment plan.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dead in the morning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Where do you go to eat breakfast on a Saturday morning? The Starbucks in this area weren't even open... And I'm talking about 9am, not 6am. Good grief...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kbl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    579
    182
    38
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and only getting better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I go to Bricktown every time I'm in OKC because it's always growing and changing. I must say I'm excited to see what's taking place there. I've been coming to OKC for decades and I remember when it was just an old warehouse district with winos. Just goes to show that some civic leaders actually can spend public money wisely which is rare these days.
One thing I hadn't seen before was the Land Run Centennial statues at the southern end of the canal. Really something to see. Also while I was there I noticed the Boathouse District. Couldn't get there from the Bricktown canal yet, but it looks like they will soon have a connection where you can take a boat cruise on from the statues out to the Boathouse District and the Oklahoma River. That will really add something exciting to this whole place, especially with the uniqueness of the Boathouse architecture. Then I heard you will soon be able to take a zip line ride across the river and back again. Cool!
By the way if there's anything missing, I'd say Bricktown needs to stay open later (the clubs are still open, but a lot of the restaurants are closed after 9:00 or 10:00 p.m. Also try adding some unique shops, especially locally flavored shops. My wife loves to shop so of course we ended up at Bass Pros even though she hates hunting and fishing (she's OK with camping). She had a blast in that place and so did our teenage sons.
I see a lot of people comparing Bricktown with the San Antonio Riverwalk on this blog. San Antonio's is bigger and better, but Bricktown is different and unique and the way OKC has brought this about so quickly and with so much expertise, I expect Bricktown will be one of the premier urban destinations in this country if not the world. Tweak a few things here and there and keep adding to it and you will truly have yourselves a world class downtown OKC.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the conversion of a former industrial area, using the original buildings, and has been very well done. Plenty of eateries, bars, clubs around, mostly based on or around the canal, where you can take boat rides or just chill. Very relaxed and safe atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank balticbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great use of old buildings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

On a sizzling hot day it was great to wander through these upgraded buildings. Super way to use such solid constructions and ensure they have a valuable life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two Days in OKC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Bricktown was designed for entertaining both in terms of sports and food. I found the area lacking in entertainment however there were many different food venues. I traveled there during early September during the weekday and maybe at that time of year many visitors come on the weekend. Not to be compared with the Riverwalk in San Antonio but it is in its infancy and with additional planning and additional infrastructure I see the potential for a destination for visitors to the city.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank go4her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bricktown also viewed

 

Been to Bricktown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing