We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inadequate Air Conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Oklahoma City
Ranked #78 of 150 Hotels in Oklahoma City
O'Fallon, IL
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inadequate Air Conditioning”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Everything was fine about our suite except that the air conditioning situation was very inadequate for the heat wave we were having in summer 2011. The air conditioner was turned up so high that our daughter in the sleeper sofa was freezing, and my husband and I were so hot we were unable to sleep at all. We often use Candlewood with satisfaction, but the method of cooling the suite is simply inadequate for very hot times.

The room was clean. We had an accessible room and I especially liked the size of the bathroom. No problems with my wheelchair.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoneturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
7
6
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed at the Candlewood Suties on floor 3 on August 2, 2011. It did provide free shuttle from the airport. The non-smoking room had an ash tray in it and smelled of smoke. They do not offer any complimentary breakfast, but did have pantry in the lobby that sells an assortment of gas station type food products. The phone on the desk, along with the wired ethernet did not work. The wireless worked just fine and provided speeds of 35ms ping, .48mbps download and .65 upload, so not the greatest. The phone next to the bed did work though. The bathtub is in ruins and needs to be recaulked, but provides a curved shower rod and clean curtain.

The business center that I noted was an old e machine in the corner of the lobby. It worked fine, but could use an update. They do provide a 25 inch tube tv with a dvd/vcr player. Behind the front desk they have DVD's that you can check out at no cost I believe.

To leave on a positive, the front desk person was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkatewithWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

THis was one of the better Candlewood that I have stayed at in a while. The staff is great and it was clean and smelled excellent. I enjoyed my self, it was a great piece of mind

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justwant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Rooms have fridge stove and microwave which is very convenient. Staff is friendly, this is nothing fancy but very good for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nvanbeuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed just one night but had a good stay. Close to the airport and restaurants. Rooms were ok and clean. Kitchen had standard stuff. The staff was very helpful and they even have new movies you can borrow for free. The room had a dvd/vcr combo and a good selection of channels. Overall an average hotel but not bad.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickel1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texass, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

My husband, toddler and I stayed at Candlewood Suites for Thanksgiving. The place was great! It was all updated, smelled fresh, clean and roomy. We never heard people walking up and down the hall and no noise from rooms on either side of us. They had a good selection of TV channels. The kitchen was clean and stocked. Nice executive desk to spread all your stuff out on. The only things that I didn't like is the bedroom wasn't big enough for a pack n play. So when it was time to go to bed, we had to put him in the living room and we had to go to the bedroom. There is no double access doors to the bathroom from the bedroom and the living room. So we had to open the bedroom door, go through the living room just to use the bathroom. The heater is loud so it woke our son up every time it kicked on. You had to control it from the unit and not from the wall device they had set up. You also had to pay for more coffee if you wanted it. The sleeves they give you makes four cups. Not enough for heavy coffee drinkers like my husband and me. They provided feather pillows instead of regular pillows. And when we asked for regular pillows, they only found one. So we had to sleep with pillows we normally wouldn't sleep with, making the quality of sleep not as good. We'll bring our own coffee and pillows next time. :)

None of this will keep us from going there again to say. The location is great and there is a Chili's right across the street for late night food. :) We will definitely recommend this place to other family members!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krhamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Everything was fine except the Internet speeds were Horrendous! For a short two day stay I had no problems. The pantry downstairs was an easy way to grab breakfast on the run. Some LOUD guests, but they were a few rooms away, thankfully.
Would prbly come back again, if it wasn't for a useless Internet connection.
Felt like I was on 1990's dial-up.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knite20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Oklahoma City
Staybridge Suites Oklahoma City
#97 of 150 in Oklahoma City
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Oklahoma City Airport
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Oklahom...
#53 of 150 in Oklahoma City
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Governors Suites Hotel
Governors Suites Hotel
#43 of 150 in Oklahoma City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Oklahoma City Airport
WoodSpring Suites Oklahoma City ...
#68 of 150 in Oklahoma City
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Oklahoma City Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#76 of 150 in Oklahoma City
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Oklahoma City Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Oklahoma City...
#54 of 150 in Oklahoma City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Oklahoma City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Oklahoma City

Property: Candlewood Suites - Oklahoma City
Address: 4400 W River Park Dr, Oklahoma City, OK 73108-1732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 150 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Oklahoma City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Oklahoma City Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk using our free high speed Internet. Relax in the over sized recliner while you enjoy music or kick back and watch a movie. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center. Then grab a meal for dinner or a snack at our Candlewood Cupboard at value prices.We are proud to be a pet friendly hotelpet fee based on length of stay, which is conveniently located near the city's major expressways of I-40 and I-44, Downtown Oklahoma City and close to other attractions such as the Celebration Station, White Water, the Cowboy Hall of Fame as well as the world renowned Horse Shows. Within an easy 8-15 mile drive you can get to other sites such as the State Capitol, Frontier City, Bricktown, Crossroads and the Oklahoma City Memorial. Also many companies such as UPS, AFS, Sonic, Tinker AFB and the FAA have their headquarters or main offices in our area. So whatever the reason for your travel is we would love for you to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Oklahoma City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Oklahoma City Hotel Oklahoma City
Candlewood Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing