We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”
Review of Red PrimeSteak

Red PrimeSteak
Reserve with OpenTable
Red PrimeSteak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,647 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NW 5th
Description: Red Prime Steak brings Dry-Aged beef to Oklahoma. Red Prime Steak specializes in Prime Midwestern beef, Kobe beef and Buffalo, which underscores Oklahoma's proud Indian roots. Only the boldest rubs and spices are used to enhance the flavor of the steaks. Housed in the Historic Buick Building and designed by award-winning architect, Rand Elliott, the modern design is a world class vision that is unique to the Steakhouse concept.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been going to Red Prime for 7 years, at least two times per year. The last time we went was in May, 2013 and the meal, service, and seating was very so-so. We thought we would give it another try tonight, but the experience was even worst. We were sat at the same table as before - a two top, next to a concrete pillar - when other tables were available. It was not only a poor table, but had missing tableware and no wine glasses. When we were sat there in May, we understood because we did not have a reservation. Tonight, we called, they said they could sit us, and the restaurant was not busy. The food was very so-so - salmon mignon was not prepared well and tasteless; it was farm raised (I asked, and should have selected something else!). The potatoes au gratin were cold, and the chopped salads were small with very little spinach. Unfortunately, we are taking this restaurant off our favorites list. It was nice while it lasted!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    61
    29
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent for Special Occasions”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went here for a family member's birthday. The atmosphere is very modern and cool. I ordered a filet 7oz steak with a brown sugar and sea salt crust and the Red steak sauce. I got to say, it was the most tender steak I have ever had. The three of us got the grilled mushrooms and loaded mashed potatoes for sides to share, which was plenty. Great service to. I would definitely come here again, only for special occasions though. I would also highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emd581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food was really great. And our server was wonderful. The price is steep but over all worth it. I would go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanAntonio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wasn't bad. How can a prime steak and wedge salad and bottled beer be bad? It wasn't but it also wasn't very good.
Pros: they offer a "crust" and a "sauce" for each steak which is different and allows for interesting flavor combinations like coffe or wild mushroom.
one male server who did the pepper grinder and helped remove plates was excellent and friendly

Cons: no beer on tap
bar service was somewhat condescending, like she had better things to do than serve customers and there were only two parties in the whole bar area, and one of them was me. Steak crust and sauce described above might be available to disguise an otherwise relatively flavorless steak.
price - yeah we all get that a "prime" steakhouse in the downtown business distric that caters to business travelers NEEDS (sarcasm intended) to be very high priced...ha ha But if the food and service is merely mediocre they one must really ask themselves why pay $42 for an a la carte steak.
Go elsewhere, you won't miss a thing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1999Spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great dining experience.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very interesting decor, our server, Jennifer, was wonderful. Food is very good, and fairly large servings. The scallops, were excellent, and the Rubarb Bacon Shortcake was perfect! Will be going back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thunderfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red PrimeSteak also viewed

 

Been to Red PrimeSteak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing