We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wine Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BLU Restaurant

BLU Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 329 Restaurants in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Wichita Falls, Tx
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Wine Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just in Norman to see our grandson play baseball and BLU had been recommended to us by a friend. Great little place with an excellent bar and brunch items. Try their blue cheese chips for a starter. Seems to be a "chick hang-out" at noon with several tables of young women celebrating birthdays and having fun. We had a birthday at our table also and they comped us a wonderful fudge brownie with strawberries and ice cream. It was soooo good. We'll return if and when we're back in Norman.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jriley7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norman
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Always good food, nice atmosphere. The wine tastings and dinners are a great option, and always good. We've been going there for years,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thunderfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No disappointments!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

If we lived in town this would be a regular hang out for us! Two visits on our recent visit to Norman. Our orders included the beet/fig salad and the Blu burger minus the bacon. Wonderful flavor and the $2 well drinks (worth ordering double tall for an extra $1) rounded our dinners perfectly. Went with friends on one of our visits and tried their spinach chip salsa appetizer. Worth it! I generally don't order appetizers but those chips have a unique flavor and it comes with one refill.
Don't pass this place up!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank okielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman, ok
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best brunch in town; Dinner is less than filling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Blu is our Sunday brunch favorite. $3 double mimosas that are usually a decent mix. They also have a build your own bloody mary bar, complete with bacon! The veggie blu plate (concoction of scrambled eggs and veggies, with potatoes and fruit) is very good, and quite filling. My friends/family have also been pleased with the various things they have ordered.
The dinner tends to be less than filling, so order a side to go with it. The pork tacos are good, but definitely need a side to count as a meal.
Good wine list and cheap cocktails. We like to go for drinks and appetizers. The hummus and pita is really good, as is the mediterranean option with tapanade.
They have a nice patio (with misters) that's enjoyable when the weather permits.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadiverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
185 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Good waitstaff, knowledgable with wine list. Our Sauvignon blanc was chilled perfectly. My wife had the fresh sea bass. The piece was small but well prepared. I enjoyed the fig, beet, and chèvre salad. An excellent combination.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLU Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to BLU Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing