We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible food service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible food service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Embassy Suites Norman on Thanksgiving day. While the info card given to us at check-in says the breakfast would be served in the lobby till 10:30 am (till 10:30 on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, till 9 on regular days M-F), I just learned from the front desk that breakfast was closing at 9. I spoke to the restaurant manager, and he could not give any reason why they were closing breakfast at 9 on a holiday when they have told all their guests that it would be open until 10:30. No help whatsoever- i might as well have been talking to another hotel guest. He just kept saying he didn't know who made that decision (he's the restaurant manager) and that the restaurant services aren't even related to the complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast they serve. What?! Guess we will have to go out for breakfast to another restaurant, which will add much time to an already busy Thanksgiving day. They do not offer room service breakfast.

By the way, we did use the room service for dinner last night, and it was nearly inedible. We all thought our food tasted "off" and none of us could finish. It was gross. By bedtime I felt really sick to my stomach. Never again.

On a better note, the room was clean and the hotel quiet.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMV12, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
To our valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our breakfast hours of operation.

Needless to say, the hours did not match what you had expected and I sincerely apologize for this not being communicated properly. For Thanksgiving, we maintain our regular hours due to our Thanksgiving Brunch that we offer and shifting our resources accordingly. This should have been communicated and again my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences this caused.

We will be reviewing our procedures moving forward to ensure that our guests’ experiences are as they should be and that the proper communication is delivered.

Thank you also for your comments on our room service food. Your feedback will be shared with our Executive Chef for proper follow up. In addition, I will share your positive comments on our housekeeping team.

Your overall perception of our services and facilities certainly is not what we strive to attain. Our mission is to provide the best in both service and facilities. While we did not meet this with your personal experience, we are grateful that you took the time to share your feedback so that we can take the appropriate measures to prevent in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michael Vance

General Manager
Norman Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    190
    82
    35
    32
See reviews for
315
132
23
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman,OK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Check in was easy, rooms were clean, beds comfortable. Not sure what more you could ask for. Did not try the restaurant. Hotel was built within the last 5 years. Did not try the pool although it looks very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbaron721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMV12, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
To our guests from Norman,

Thanks very much for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to share with others and glad to see that your experience was positive. We just past our four year anniversary since our opening and work very closely with all of our team members to continue to focus on our overall cleanliness and maintenance. This is critical in our effort to provide you with the very best service and facilities possible.

Hopefully on your next visit you will have the opportunity to use the pool and fitness facilities. We have a great indoor pool with whirlpool and state-of-the-art fitness room for your enjoyment.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Michael Vance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We came to Norman for the Notre Dame game and originally booked a hotel in OKC to avoid the crazy hotel prices in Norman. This particular one was over $300 the night we stayed, but the rest of our party cancelled and offered us their room since it was paid for and non-refundable. That being said, we will definitely be staying at Embassy Suites from here on out when we come up for a game.

For starters, this hotel is right off the highway, so it’s very easy to access. As soon as you walk into the lobby, you know that you made the right choice. It is very open and clean as well as extremely welcoming. The front desk staff checked us in quickly and explained where we could find our room. Once we dropped off our bags, we went back downstairs to grab a snack. There is a huge bar area with large televisions everywhere. Perfect for a college town where sports are important! There was even a huge projection tv with couch type seating for guests to enjoy.

The only negative I have was the breakfast buffet. It is included in the room rate and looked very promising. They offered biscuits and gravy, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, and a variety of toast and cereals. They also had an omelet station, but after waiting 20 minutes and only moving up a bit, I gave up. Everything looked delicious so when I sat down to take a bite, I was extremely disappointed. The food was cold and flavorless. Maybe everything is better when it is not a game day and there aren’t quite so many people, but we will definitely pass next time we stay there.

The morning of the game, we left the hotel and were at the university in minutes. If you want a clean, close hotel, then this one comes very highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seb02a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMV12, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
To our guests from Dallas,

Glad to see that you had the opportunity to join us for the OU/ND game. It was an extremely busy weekend as we welcomed guests from around the country.

Thanks very much for your overview and positive remarks. I greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast and will certainly share your comments regarding your experience with our chef. There should be no reason for hot food to be neither cold nor flavorless. We definitely appreciate your comments as it allows us to ensure we address any shortfalls.

We do look forward to being of service again when the time allows. Please do not hesitate to reach out and let us know if we may be of assistance!

Safe travels...

Kind Regards,

Michael Vance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for a night while visiting son who attends OU. Could not ask for more. The staff we great and made us feel very welcome. This is definetely a first class hotel.The room and the entire hotel was very clean. We enjoyed free drinks at night and a very nice free breakfast buffet. The staff at the coffee shop were great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMV12, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
To our guests from Jenks,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting your son attending OU. We greatly appreciate your business!

I will look forward to sharing with our team your comments regarding them making you feel welcome. This is such a priority as we want all of our guests to have a sense of belonging with us while visiting.

We’re glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary manager’s reception and our complimentary cook to order breakfast and buffet offerings.

We do hope to see you again soon and extend any offer of assistance if needed with future plans.

Best to your son here in Norman!

In the spirit of hospitality,

Michael Vance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

It starts with the check-in, not a formidable wall, but friendly islands. Three long-time Irish fans in for the ND-OU game. Clerk offered to split the bill 3-ways without being asked. Done right in front of us in about 30 seconds. Other reviewers have commented on the immense water feature in the lobby and it is a sight to behold. As it was 7:25 when we arrived the island clerk reminded us of the free drinks and we were promptly served just as they were closing up. The elevator to the 8th floor suite had a glass wall view of the immense atrium which negated my claustrophobia.
Room is a great suite with two comfortable queens in the bedroom and a serviceable sofa bed in the living room. Breakfast was well staffed and everyone was so friendly throughout our stay. Omelette chief was a real master and could cook 6 of them at a time. I don't know why you would bother staying anywhere else in Norman. Location is a bit out of town but there is a Target strip mall within walking distance. In more than 40 years of going to ND away games we have never had a finer experience. Yes, Notre Dame's 30-13 victory over the Sooners was a bonus.

Room Tip: 8th floor was quiet and room temperature control worked quite well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lighthouse2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMV12, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
To our guest from San Clemente!

Thanks so much for your kind words. I’ll look forward to sharing your comments with our entire staff.

It was no doubt an exciting weekend for everyone arriving to Norman for the ND-OU game! Weather was great and it appeared that everyone enjoyed themselves. We were proud to be host to guests from the fan base of both teams arriving from all parts of the U.S. and world for a highly anticipated game!

Thank you again for choosing us to be your “home away from home”. We hope to be of service in the future should your travels return you to the Norman or greater Oklahoma City area! Please feel free to let us know if we may be of assistance.

Safe Travels,

Michael Vance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I say here 5-6 times per year and it is always the exact same. It is always clean, the people are always very friendly and the breakfast is excellent. It is just as clean as the day it opened (I was one of their first guests) and I know I can count on it every time. My only complaint is the pillows are way too soft, they don't really support my head. Overall that is minor, I just double up. The manager's reception every weekday night is always good. The man that makes the omelets, etc. for breakfast has been there since they opened. He is very good at his job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMV12, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
To our guest from Houston,

Thank you for your comments and for you loyalty in choosing to stay with us while in the area. We truly appreciate your business!

I will look forward to sharing your comments regarding our cleanliness, manager’s reception, as well as to our omelet chef. I know that Sam will greatly appreciate your comments!
We look forward to seeing you in the near future and extend any assistance if you should need it.

Kind Regards,

Michael Vance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at this Embassy property. It was a great choice. The hotel seems very new. The staff was nice. The halls were wider than other Embassy suites that I have stayed at prior. The morning chef was astonishing. Several in line made comments about his ability to stay ahead of us. Amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMV12, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you to our guest from Denver!

We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your experiences.
We just passed our four year anniversary since opening here in Norman, OK and our team works to stay focused on keeping a clean and well maintained facility.
Thank you for your comments on our breakfast Chef. Sam along with the entire team in our complimentary breakfast area has a passion for service and stands ready to assist in any way to ensure we exceed your expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope to see you again when your travels return you to the area!

In the spirit of hospitality,

Michael Vance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norman
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#13 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Norman
Hampton Inn Norman
#4 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2501 Conference Dr, Norman, OK 73069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Norman
#2 Family Hotel in Norman
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Norman - Hotel & Conference Center is located in the heart of Norman, Oklahoma just off I-35.We are perfectly situated to be your accommodation for visiting your favorite University of Oklahoma Sooner! If you are in town for business, we are located in the heart of the University North Park Retail and Business Development. We also offer a short drive up I-35 to Oklahoma City as well. If you are looking for things to visit - the Fred Jones Jr Museum of Art, Lake Thunderbird State Park, Little River Zoo, and Sam Nobel Oklahoma Museum of Natural History are all within a short distance of our hotel.Our hotel features two room suites with separate bedroom and living areas, free cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary Manager's Reception, and excellent cuisine at the North Park Grill. We also offer over 50,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space. Come stay at the Embassy Suites Norman on your next visit to Norman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Norman Hotel Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing