We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch on Weekend”
Review of Fancy That

Fancy That
Ranked #49 of 329 Restaurants in Norman
Price range: $6 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Best of All Cuisines all in one Great Chef Driven Restaurant.. Totally Different Lunch, Dinner and Brunch Menus makes us Like 3 Different Restaurants in one Eclectic Dining Room.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Brunch on Weekend”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Good menu selection cooked to order and a nice little 'tea room' atmosphere. Great sweets as well if you save room.

Helpful?
Thank sdavis3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
“Delightful lunch”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

we had soup, salads and sandwiches, breads were hearty and tasty, soup was at right temperature and exquisite flavor, and all ingredients blended to perfection.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JazztheMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, OK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fancy That has kicked into high gear under new ownership.”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Fancy That is a downtown Norman place that has been in business under several different owners over the last 5-7 years. I hadn't gone much because it was just a little too foo foo cluttered in deco and food only OK. But about a year ago, the restaurant was bought by chef Thomas Slatt. Went there the other night with a friend who also had not been in since the new ownership.

The place has been completely redone inside and is very classy and beautiful. Menu is completely revised and is a very interesting menu items. It's open for lunch and dinner and a brunch on Saturday and Sunday. They are working on their bar, and that should be underway in the coming months.

The food was simply excellent. My friend had the tilapia fish taco entree which was excellent. But my prawn and pasta dish really allowed the chef to shine. Very creative, and just superb.

Norman has several fine dining restaurants in town, and new ownership has raised the level of this restaurant to fit that category.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We love the new look and menu”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Fancy That was redundant and tired. With mediocre cupcakes and a rather bland lunch menu many a bridal party was probably disappointed in the fair fare. Then enters a new owner. Under his ownership the menu had become more sophisticated and extensive and my husband didn't shudder when he walked in. Gone were the frills and in their place was a casually elegant venue. We spent a good deal of time talking with the new owner who was an absolute delight. Sorry New Owner but I can't remember your name. My husband had the Crab Benedict and I had a brisket and egg. The flavors popped and complimented one another. I went to its former incarnation a couple of times and both times disappointed The new Fancy That is much more substantial. It's certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikerbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“their blueberry muffins...”
Reviewed March 20, 2008

their blueberry muffins are to die for!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fancy That also viewed

 

Been to Fancy That? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing