We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montford Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Norman B&B and Inns
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We found the Montford Inn on the Internet while looking for a B&B for a short get-away vacation. Turned out it was all we had hoped for - plenty of well-kept room, great service, excellent breakfasts, and willing to help whenever anything was needed. So glad we found it, and another benefit is the Montford Inn was close to the museums and other sights we wanted to see. Thank you, folks at Montford Inn. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We will, William! Reading that your stay at the Montford Inn was all you'd hoped for absolutely made our day. We'd love to have you back next time you're in need of a short getaway!

Safe travels,
The Murrays and Montford Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    31
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
158
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Generally, I'm not a fan of B&Bs (too stuffy, not enough privacy), but I stayed at the Montford Inn for work and loved it! It was comfortable, but didn't feel intrusive. The breakfasts were amazing and there was tea and coffee available 24 hours in the lobby. The bed was comfortable and the room was well appointed. I think I was in the Alumni Room (the one with the private jacuzzi). I really enjoyed my stay. My only suggestion would be to have more light in the room and to turn down the heat at night (it was so hot I had to keep a window open). There were only two dim lights and even during the day it was on the dark side. I would definitely stay here if I returned to OU.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skaerje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We'll be sure to keep your suggestion of turning the heat down in mind going forward! Thanks for staying with us when you were in Norman, and thanks for your kind words. We'd love to have you back if ever you find yourself planning another trip to OU!

Safe travels,
The Murrays and Montford Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have stayed at the Montford Inn many times over the years and it is always a pleasure. The people who own and operate the inn are always helpful and friendly. The breakfast is always delicious, and the location cannot be topped. I stayed recently while visit at OU. It is a 5 minute bike ride or a 15 minute walk to the OU campus. I walked to dinner both nights and had my choice of several very good/excellent restaurants. The Legacy Trail is two blocks from the inn and is a great facility for walking, bicycling, and seeing the community. The rooms are always comfortable and provide the usual amenities including extra towels, large comfortable beds, and toiletries. I have stayed in the cottages and they are quaint and lovely. It is quiet, unless the occasional train nearby bothers you. I never even notice it. I will be back! The Montford is a jewel in the crown of Norman.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodasart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Best B&B around? We'll take it! Thank you so much for this glowing recommendation. We know other reviewers will appreciate your attention to detail as much as we do!

Safe travels,
Montford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Montford Inn for a weekend getaway. We were looking for a quiet, comfortable place to stay for a couple of days. The Montford Inn was just that. We stayed in Chickasaw Rancher and enjoyed the comfortable room with the fireplace for the chilly evenings. It was clean and quiet and the breakfasts we had there were very tasty. We also enjoyed the delicious cookies in the evening. All the staff we encountered were very kind and welcoming.

Room Tip: The Inn is fairly close to the train tracks, so there are relatively frequent trains going by (some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
It's great to hear your stay at our place was everything you wanted and more! Thanks for coming to see us, and thanks for following up with such kind words. We'd love to have you back again soon!

Safe travels,
Montford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay! Very quiet place & the Owner, Phyllis, and her staff made us feel right at home. The hot tub right outside the room was awesome on the cold, wintery night we stayed at the Montford. We would definitely recommend the Montford.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deb2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much! It's great to hear you felt "right at home" when you stayed with us. That's ultimately what we want for each of our guests, and we're thrilled that we hit the mark with you!

Until next time,
Montford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My son & I stayed at the Montford Inn in Norman Oklahoma and I cannot express in words how fabulous the experience was for us .. The breakfasts are homemade, fresh as can be and delicious as a way to begin the day. The welcoming and the hospitality made us feel so at home. The rooms could not be more comfortable or tasteful…Simply delicious and fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you, Susan! It was a pleasure having you and your son here; we're thrilled that you enjoyed every part of your stay so much. We'd love to see you again next time you're up this way!

Safe travels,
Montford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We always stay at the Montford when in town visiting family. They are so thoughtful, remembering things like how my husband doesn't like a footboard on his bed and that I like ripe fruit for breakfast. Best place in Norman by far!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronLeeBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
"Home away from home" — that's just what we like to hear! Thanks for always thinking of us when you're in town visiting family. We're lucky to have loyal guests in you and your husband!

Until next time,
Montford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 24 in Norman
122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
3.4 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montford Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montford Inn and Cottages

Property: Montford Inn and Cottages
Address: 322 W Tonhawa St, Norman, OK 73069-7124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Oklahoma's premiere Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cottages. In the heart of Norman, Oklahoma, near the University of Oklahoma, Montford Inn invites you to experience the comfort of being at home, yet be a part of something special. Montford Inn is everything the discriminating guest has come to expect: Elegance, Grandeur, Comfort, Attention to Detail, Charm, Antiques and Location. Guests will find the spirit of the Inn to be delightfully romantic and relaxing. The Inn, built in 1994, was custom-designed to create a unique quality and personalized atmosphere, achieving a distinctive ambiance through a combination of elegance and country tradition. Whether you are looking for the perfect place for that special occasion, or coming to Norman, Oklahoma City or the University of Oklahoma on business, Montford Inn offers its guests the luxurious alternative to traveling in hotels at surprisingly competitive rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing