We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at the Montford Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montford Inn and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montford Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Norman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time at the Montford Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Montford Inn is a fine place to stop for a night or two. Especially the cottages, which are turn of the (20th) century Oklahoma homes that were converted into individual housing units, are worth the cost (about $200/night). They are luxuriously furnished with appropriate, early western decor, but also modern enough to have TVs in several rooms and wonderful whirlpool tubs. The large main house is also excellent, and cheaper. The breakfasts at the Montford are worth awakening for (loved the buckwheat-blue corn pancakes), and the location is close to Main Street in downtown Norman, which has itself undergone a rebirth and modernization. No problem to find sushi or Italian or a sports bar close by for dinner, and lots of antique shopping too.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEK_OK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    30
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
154
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I don't know how this B&B has gotten any recent good reviews...my husband and I stayed at the Montford Inn in May 2013, and having stayed at over 30 inns and B&B's I feel we have a good basis for comparison.

Overall, it appears this once great B&B has fallen to neglect by the owners, or perhaps been bought by newer owners who don't hold to the same standards that earned the Montford awards in years past. Service is unfriendly, breakfast is bland and forgettable, the room is hot, overstuffed, and uncomfortable (though it has GREAT bedding) and the trains, oh the trains. I live near trains and figured this would be similar to home, but it's NOT. I've never heard trains blow their whistles that long, or come through that frequently. It's like they have a personal vendetta against the town and anyone trying to sleep in it. We got NO rest, and certainly no luxury. Please save your $$ and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Expect to burn up upstairs, and freeze downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LapisLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our second stay and it was just as wonderful as the first, maybe even better! The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast are so delicious! The common areas are a great place to relax with cookies, snacks, lemonade, coffee and tea. The hosts are delightful and make it feel like home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I love to stay here when we want to hang out in Oklahoma City. Although it sits on the southern most part of the city, it is so charming and friendly that we just keep going back. I am handicapped and they do everything they can to accommodate my disability is, including my wheat allergy. (BTW, they make the best gluten free pancakes). I know we'll be going back again, even though we rarely stay the same place twice. (This was actually our second trip.) I've seen reviews about the train, and to me this just adds to the charm. I hope you'll get to stay at this charming place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyceej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We love the Montford Inn in Norman. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. It is locally owned by a wonderful family with deep roots in Norman. They know the area well and are OU alumni. They not only provide comfortable accommodations and a hearty breakfast, but rich tradition as well. You feel like family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our daughter was attending the University for her Masters program. We traveled to Norman at least twice yearly to hear her perform. We tried the cheaper hotels but they are far from the school. After our first stay at Montford we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are quiet, beds very comfortable and the service is excellent. The rooms in the house are designed to be private - we especially love the Chickasaw Rancher. On our last stay it was full so we stayed in the Marketplace Cottage at a discount. Why stay here - location, service, kind hosts, quiet, great beds and - oh, and the tubs are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mschaefer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My daughter and I stay twice a year for a weekend getaway! Great place to stay, staff is awesome and take really good care of us. My daughter has a very restrictive diet from health issues and they went out of their way to accommodate us. Can't wait till November for our next stay, we are working our way through all the rooms at the inn!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papisox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#11 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montford Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montford Inn and Cottages

Property: Montford Inn and Cottages
Address: 322 W Tonhawa St, Norman, OK 73069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Oklahoma's premiere Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cottages. In the heart of Norman, Oklahoma, near the University of Oklahoma, Montford Inn invites you to experience the comfort of being at home, yet be a part of something special. Montford Inn is everything the discriminating guest has come to expect: Elegance, Grandeur, Comfort, Attention to Detail, Charm, Antiques and Location. Guests will find the spirit of the Inn to be delightfully romantic and relaxing. The Inn, built in 1994, was custom-designed to create a unique quality and personalized atmosphere, achieving a distinctive ambiance through a combination of elegance and country tradition. Whether you are looking for the perfect place for that special occasion, or coming to Norman, Oklahoma City or the University of Oklahoma on business, Montford Inn offers its guests the luxurious alternative to traveling in hotels at surprisingly competitive rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing