We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montford Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Norman B&B and Inns
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We love the Montford Inn in Norman. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. It is locally owned by a wonderful family with deep roots in Norman. They know the area well and are OU alumni. They not only provide comfortable accommodations and a hearty breakfast, but rich tradition as well. You feel like family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    31
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
158
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our daughter was attending the University for her Masters program. We traveled to Norman at least twice yearly to hear her perform. We tried the cheaper hotels but they are far from the school. After our first stay at Montford we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are quiet, beds very comfortable and the service is excellent. The rooms in the house are designed to be private - we especially love the Chickasaw Rancher. On our last stay it was full so we stayed in the Marketplace Cottage at a discount. Why stay here - location, service, kind hosts, quiet, great beds and - oh, and the tubs are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschaefer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My daughter and I stay twice a year for a weekend getaway! Great place to stay, staff is awesome and take really good care of us. My daughter has a very restrictive diet from health issues and they went out of their way to accommodate us. Can't wait till November for our next stay, we are working our way through all the rooms at the inn!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papisox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After reading the great reviews, I booked a room at the Montford for me & my daughter for a college visit to OU. What a wonderful choice! We were greeted warmly, our room was clean and comfortable, there was wine and cookies offered and we got a fantastic restaurant recommendation (Bienenuti's! Yum!). The location is perfect for visiting OU- everything is within walking distance and we felt like we were in the center of everything yet removed to a quiet osasis once we stepped into the Inn.
Breakfast was really great- banana/pecan/buttermilk pancakes with fresh fruit and those yummy smoothies. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were downstairs towards the back and it was quiet but the neighborhood is quiet so I think all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,359 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Regretfully, I barely spent any time here, I was so busy when I was in Norman. It's got a lot!

I arrived late, was whisked away for dinner then dropped off late and had to leave early. I really wish I had had time to have social drinks downstairs with the other guests, which happens every evening.

My room was the Hearthstone, complete with squeaky floor, four-poster covered bed and desk.

I was told the squeak was built-in after the owners visited historic b&bs in New England and wanted to recreate that feeling in Norman, Oklahoma.

My breakfast was rushed (by me) but still managed to be fabulous.

This is a lovely base for discovering the museums and attractions in Norman. I highly recommend the Montford Inn.

Room Tip: Hearthstone was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was a cozy and comfortable bed and breakfast, with rustic decor and friendly staff. The innkeepers went out of their way to make me feel at home. The room was clean, the wifi worked well, and the bed was comfortable. One really nice feature was the bathtub with jets, and the (provided) herbal bathsalts to use with the tub. The breakfast was wonderful! They don't have a menu, but have one (I guess you could call it a) special: the morning I was there, it was a spinach and bacon egg scramble with sides of fruit salad and zucchini bread. It was delicious!!! And of course came with as much coffee as I could drink. (I just want to note that they did offer to make something else, so if you're not like me (I eat anything) they are flexible).

Also, it is walking distance to a park, which has a short but nice loop for walking/jogging.

Several reviewers mentioned the train. I did notice the train whistle during the day, but either the train doesn't run at night or I slept right trough it; I did not get woken up at all.

I loved staying here, and I hope you will too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here over the New Year's weekend. Pam graciously met us as we arrived with wine, cider and lemon cookies. What a lovely touch after traveling all day. We stayed in the Homesteaders Room. Which was lovely. We used the common areas more (especially around the fireplace). We found the inn to be comfortable and inviting. Breakfast each morning was served promptly and they were very accommodating with my friends gluten free diet. The location is ideal for Norman. The inn is just a block off of main street. Loved it and we will return.

Room Tip: The Homesteader tends to be a very warm room, so we had them close the vents to cool off, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winterstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 24 in Norman
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montford Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montford Inn and Cottages

Property: Montford Inn and Cottages
Address: 322 W Tonhawa St, Norman, OK 73069-7124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Oklahoma's premiere Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cottages. In the heart of Norman, Oklahoma, near the University of Oklahoma, Montford Inn invites you to experience the comfort of being at home, yet be a part of something special. Montford Inn is everything the discriminating guest has come to expect: Elegance, Grandeur, Comfort, Attention to Detail, Charm, Antiques and Location. Guests will find the spirit of the Inn to be delightfully romantic and relaxing. The Inn, built in 1994, was custom-designed to create a unique quality and personalized atmosphere, achieving a distinctive ambiance through a combination of elegance and country tradition. Whether you are looking for the perfect place for that special occasion, or coming to Norman, Oklahoma City or the University of Oklahoma on business, Montford Inn offers its guests the luxurious alternative to traveling in hotels at surprisingly competitive rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing