We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montford Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Norman B&B and Inns
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could not have been better!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I just spent an anniversary evening in one of the cottages. It was everything one would expect a bed and breakfast to have and maybe a bit more. Our "little" cottage was extremely spacious - huge oversized bathroom with jetted heart shaped tub with fireplace, drinks, ice (full sized fridge), popcorn, coffee. We were served a light wine, lemonade and cookies in the main house (across the street). We relaxed and snacked in their parlor enjoying the soft music and an occasional visit with other guests. Breakfast was just delicious - coffee, smoothee, fresh fruit, banana bread and a very lovely egg casserole. (Would love to stop in just for breakfast some time - it was so nice) Having been to other hotels as well as bed and breakfast establishments, I can say without hesitation that this was the cleanest room I have ever been in. It is the first time in a very long time that I felt the floor was clean enough to be barefoot. We felt that the owner and her staff have done a wonderful job all the way around. Clean, comfy, everyone was very very nice, it was better than staying at your closest relatives home - we certainly felt that we were treated as very valued friends and not just paying customers. I look forward to our next visit and would recommend the the Montford Inn to anyone without hesitation. If I could give it 10 stars, I would.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    31
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
160
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We try to get away every so often and what a get away this was not far from home and in town.
This was for our 25th Anniversary. The Staff was very friendly.(also owners). Breakfast was wonderful. Are overall stay was great. We have even thought of when we could get back there.
K.& T. Schultz
Tulsa OK

Room Tip: We had a cottage this trip it was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Our daughter's Masters Piano recital at OU schedule for Saturday evening required us to stay as close to campus as possible, so the proximity was important to us.
We traveled with my mother in law and our daughter's piano teacher, we all had comfortable and spacious rooms with lovely decorations and plush linens.
Having a hearty and healthy breakfast was important to us.
We were blessed with comfort, service, cleanliness and great hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazztheMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I took my wife to the Montford Inn as a birthday surprise for her birthday on January 1st. After taking her to dinner and a movie, we checked into the inn. We stayed in the Morningsong Room. The room met all of our expectations for a quiet evening after an all evening celebration. The breakfast the next morning was very healthy and fillling. It was a great experience and I would recommend it to all traveling through Norman, OK.

Bill White
OKC

Room Tip: Holidays and OU home football games appear to be the busy times for them. It is still a treat to boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This was our first trip to Norman as we were in town to visit in-laws. I chose Montford Inn based partially on other Tripadvisor reviews and we were pleased with the choice. The location is great - away from the interstate and close to the campus. As others have mentioned, the parking is a plus and we did like the sounds of the trains passing by a few blocks away.

We chose the Chickasaw Rancher as we wanted a walk-in shower and we were not disappointed. The room is on the second floor and faces the front of the inn - it also is above the small dining area which did produce some morning sounds. But the room was comfortable and nicely sized. As the weekend was cold, we did use the fireplace which was easily controlled via a switch on the wall. Hot water was ample and the shower was large. The bathroom also had a whirlpool tub that we did not use.

This was our first ever visit to a B&B. We often choose smaller hotels, and felt this would fit well with the tone of the weekend and it did. Liked the public rooms with all the local history-type books to read as well as the evening wine and cookies. The breakfast was thoughtfully prepared, but on day two did not include protein other than the sausage and was on the sweet side. However we learned that scrambled eggs can be requested. The egg casserole on day one was tasty and the fruits were very fresh.

I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Norman who wants to avoid the hotels along the interstate and chooses a more historical experience with hospitable hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My husband and I have come to the Monthford Inn a few times now. Love every time we come. So relaxing and all the shopping you need is right in Norman. No need to go all the way into Oklahoma City. We love the cottages the best! The Garden Gate is wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I've chosen to stay three times at the Montford.
I choose the same room 'Homesteaders' and look on it as 'my' room.
William makes a great breakfast, Phyllis is there on the weekend and also makes one feel a welcomed guest.
Parking out the back is also a bonus. The evening cookies and liquid refreshments in the living room is also most welcomed, as well, as the ever-ready coffee machine, either in your room or living room.
The inn is located in an university town and the buzz from some of the guests reflect this.
I have stayed around Thanksgiving when the Christmas tree is put up, I was sorry to miss this season this latest trip, the tree just adds to the whole ambience.
The Murray family have worked hard to create Montford,a home away from home.
Would not stay anywhere but at the Montford in Norman.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravelling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Norman
Super 8 Norman
#11 of 24 in Norman
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montford Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montford Inn and Cottages

Property: Montford Inn and Cottages
Address: 322 W Tonhawa St, Norman, OK 73069-7124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Oklahoma's premiere Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cottages. In the heart of Norman, Oklahoma, near the University of Oklahoma, Montford Inn invites you to experience the comfort of being at home, yet be a part of something special. Montford Inn is everything the discriminating guest has come to expect: Elegance, Grandeur, Comfort, Attention to Detail, Charm, Antiques and Location. Guests will find the spirit of the Inn to be delightfully romantic and relaxing. The Inn, built in 1994, was custom-designed to create a unique quality and personalized atmosphere, achieving a distinctive ambiance through a combination of elegance and country tradition. Whether you are looking for the perfect place for that special occasion, or coming to Norman, Oklahoma City or the University of Oklahoma on business, Montford Inn offers its guests the luxurious alternative to traveling in hotels at surprisingly competitive rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing