We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad payouts and sad buffet”
Review of Riverwind Casino

Riverwind Casino
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Norman
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the hottest Vegas-style action at Riverwind Casino, including over 2,700 electronic games, off-track betting, and 45 gaming tables such as Poker, Blackjack, Ultimate Texas Holdem', 3 Card Poker, and Baccarat. Many world-class acts have taken the stage at the Showplace Theatre. The 1,500-seat theatre is the most luxurious venue in the area. Also in the theatre is a mezzanine area, with a full bar, lounge, and two corporate boxes. We offer a wide selection of restaurants, including Chips 'N Ales, the Willows Buffet and the Seasons Food Court, featuring Burger King®, Rick’s Café, Taco Bueno™ and Panda Express®. Located right in the middle of the casino floor is the Energy Bar, a full bar featuring gaming machines built into the bar.Don’t feel like walking far to park your car? Drop it off at our North or South Valet, and take just a few steps to be on the casino floor. And if you’re too tired to even drive home, stop at the Riverwind Hotel, attached to the casino’s south side by a walkway. The hotel, outfitted with the latest luxurious amenities, has 100 guest rooms, including nine spa suites, a junior suite and a governor suite and is sure to be your gateway to relaxation. For our guests who need to travel by airplane, we are conveniently located 23 miles from Will Rogers World Airport. Nearby is Oklahoma’s “most unique entertainment destination”, the Bricktown Entertainment District, as well as the Winter Creek Golf Course, Sooner Mall, and the University of Oklahoma.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The casino is typical nice air lots of pretty lights. The payouts were horrble on the slots. The buffet was fairly priced at 9.99 but the food was cold and bland. The server was pleasant and provided good service.

1  Thank jrgenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek C, Social Media Manager at Riverwind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Sorry you didn't have great payouts when you visited, but I'm glad you got great service at Willows! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nice casino"
in 34 reviews
"food court"
in 15 reviews
"cookies"
in 9 reviews
"panda express"
in 9 reviews
"burger king"
in 8 reviews
"the pub"
in 8 reviews
"favorite casino"
in 6 reviews
"taco bueno"
in 6 reviews
"front desk"
in 12 reviews
"have a good time"
in 7 reviews
"chips"
in 22 reviews
"ales"
in 16 reviews
"waitress"
in 12 reviews
"games"
in 37 reviews
"winnings"
in 8 reviews
"winner"
in 6 reviews
"manager"
in 7 reviews
Filter

495 - 499 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

As i have been playing blackjack for over 30 years and have been to every major gaming destination in the usa. i know what a bad bet is. Riverwind table games are one of the worse bets you will find anywhere in the usa. I was out there recently and stopped by the pit to ask if they are still charging "ante" the 50 cent a hand charge they charge you to rent a chair to play there. They informed me they are. I read a comment from C. Marek who responds to trip-advisor for riverwind about it being a "state" regulated charge. That is a joke. I play at thunderbird casino which is twice as far from my house for this reason. There they offer a double deck game, charge No rake, 'ante" as riverwind calls it. For those that don't realize it on average on a full table you will play about 60 hands of blackjack an hour so if you play at riverwind you are "renting" a chair for 30 dollars an hour! pretty pricey for a shoe deck game that already favors the house! And the other thing that is comical about riverwind is they have 120 different offers of "comps? for play. The big casinos in vegas, etc. have 5-6 levels of comps. You can play at thunderbird which i do buy in and play for WHATEVER length of time you want and they will gladly give you a comp for their deli. I understand a lot of folks have not played out of state to realize what a "rip-off" it is to play tables at riverwind. The only way they will wake up is if people don't sit down and pay to play like i have and take their business elsewhere. Best of luck to you and try to get what you deserve for your gambling dollar!

1  Thank marymark059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek C, Social Media Manager at Riverwind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately, it is in our compact with of Oklahoma. Feel free to ask an employee in the poker room next time you're at the casino for more details. They can get the card games manager for you to further discuss your concerns. Here's the link to the Gaming Compact: http://www.ok.gov/OGC/documents/Model%20Compact.pdf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Why does Riverwind not have a sports book ....geez, that is half the fun...also a real roulette table is a must so I think Riverwind, although a great facility is operating at about 50%...

Thank Thunderus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek C, Social Media Manager at Riverwind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Unfortunately, Oklahoma state doesn't allow for Sports Booking. We do have Off-Track Betting, though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I love Riverwind Casino, it is my favorite place to go. I'm ther every weekend. Plent of games to choose from. the staff is so friendly. I've never had a bad experience.

1  Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek C, Social Media Manager at Riverwind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Awesome!! I'm glad you have had a great time. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Riverwind is a small casino in Norman, OK.
I have never been in a casino with such a large food court;
one side of the room was lined with Panda Express, Burger King, etc.
They also have self-serve beverage stations with soda and coffee.

The casino consists mainly of slot machines, with minimums
as low as one cent. There are very few video poker machines.
Table games have minimums as low as $5. There are no Craps or
Roulette tables. The tables they do have are crammed into a very
small area and it creates a very congested area between the tables
and the slot machines. They have a very active poker room which
seems to be the star attraction at this casino.

1  Thank Emerald1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek C, Social Media Manager at Riverwind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thanks for your feedback! While we aren't able to have Roulette at the casino, we do have a video Roulette game that's a lot of fun to play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverwind Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing