We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel in good location”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This hotel is in a pretty convenient spot in Norman, just off the interstate, but set back such that there isn't road noise. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (Carinos, Interurban, Jason's Deli). Breakfast was good, and coffee was actually decent (unlike at most hotels).

My only complaint is that the bed was exceptionally firm, which is not my preference.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IWillDare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    76
    41
    32
    23
See reviews for
141
57
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights while visiting family in the area. The breakfast buffet is the best I've experienced. The usual, plus waffles, fruit, and different meat and eggs each morning. Also serviced by a lovely woman. The room was quite comfortable & clean. Set back from the expressway so quieter than other hotels in area. My room in the back on the ground floor faced a line of trees. Nice. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Very good rate by paying in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passion4life111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I was surprised to get this place on Hotwire. You don't normally see this chain on there. As I recall, it was a 3* and, all in all, I don't think it deserves that.
The lobby was very pretty with its comfortable sitting area, fireplace and wood-railed staircase, but the rooms were really drab and just somewhat disconcerting. I can't really explain the latter, but there was just something wrong here. I was surprised to see all of the obvious signs of wear in the bathroom. Lots of marks on the wall, grout from the tub, etc. I was also surprised to find no fridge and microwave in the room. I had always assume all Country Inns had these, but I guess not this one. There was actually no public microwave in the hotel, but the clerk was nice enough to warm up my leftovers in the employee microwave.
Maybe the Hotwire thing did it, but we were stuck at the end of the hall by the stairs. I like the end of the hall, but not next to the stairs. In the end, this didn't prove to be a problem, because the breakfast herd instead used the main stairs in the morning.
Breakfast was served in a somewhat cramped room. Most hotel breakfast areas are cramped though, so they can't be blamed. Nothing exceptional on the menu but certainly above a Super 8. It seems like, just from the decor, they're trying to directly compete with Homewood Suites and that hotel, at least the location where I stayed most recently, had a FANTASTIC breakfast.
I checked out the reading area in the lobby while I waited for my food to be heated and found a lot of L. Ron Hubbard books on the bookshelf. I guess they just take whatever they can get for free and I can't really blame them for that. Just kind of strange.
They also have a small porch-like area just outside the front door where guests can sit and awkwardly stare at other guests coming through the front door. It was especially weird because the porch just looked out at the vast parking lot. This when there was a sort of undeveloped forest right behind the building.
The hotel also allows pets and, in the morning, we got a yappy dog in a nearby room as an alarm clock.
The biggest slap in the face was the fact that, although they have an indoor pool + hot tub that looked really nice, the whole facility was closed for "maintenance." I was really looking forward to it and was very disappointed.
Big plus is that there are a couple of restaurants in the parking lot, one of them being a Jason's Deli.
I certainly wouldn't have booked this place on my own and I wasn't really happy with Hotwire's putting me here. I think a 2* from them probably would have been about on par with this for the experience and would have cost a little less.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We spent two nights here after being disappointed by the Hampton two weeks prior. The rooms smell a little musty, but I think it's simply because business is slow and they're not being used. That said, I got a great rate ($85) for a 1-bedroom king suite. It was clean and comfortable. A big plus for me: the window actually opens! Fresh air is a wonderful thing! This will be my new choice for hotels in Norman. Breakfast isn't too great, but it compares to what a Hampton or Fairfield will offer. There were plenty of cookies each night, too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjanesbaer
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at the County inn & suites for a total of four nights. The continental breakfast was always good and they never ran out of supplies. 24 hour coffee and cookies is a great idea and we definitely used it. County Inn has good size rooms and the air conditioning was definitely a life saver in the 100 degree + temperatures. Never used the pool though since we were visiting friends who have a backyard pool. The business center could use more than one computer though. Overall a great experience, will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidarthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We got a $53/night game for this place on Hotwire.com Check in was easy, the room was clean, the bathroom was very clean. The beds were just okay, but about what you would expect for this type of hotel. The lobby is very nice and is a cozy place to hang out. Breakfast is pretty good too. Our only beef with the place was the lack of promised cookies in the evening...after standing at the OU game for 6 hours we were STARVING and REALLY wanted one of those suckers! Didn't see any all weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXSoonerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed 1 night at Country Inns. I checked into room 329 and I noticed dead bugs (roaches) on the bathroom floor so I immediately asked to be switched. I was switched to another room (#130) and there was the same problem. There were dead bugs on the bathroom floor, by the door jam and along the walls. Since they were dead I cleaned them up with toilet paper. It was too late to cancel and look for another hotel room. In the morning there were new dead bugs on the bathroom floor. One positive about this place - the woman at the front desk was siper friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnNorman, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
We take comments as yours seriously in an effort to improve our overall quality and guest experience!

Warm regards,
Kendra Wilson
Manager
405-360-0240
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 24 in Norman
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman
Address: 960 Ed Noble Dr, Norman, OK 73072-4807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our convenient location and the thoughtful service offered at the Country Inn & Suites Norman and nearby shopping/neighboring restaurants, you'll wonder why traveling isn't always this easy. Close to Oklahoma University and Oklahoma City, this hotel features two room Suites, large one room studios, and spacious standard rooms with either king size or queen size beds. Features include a free hot breakfast daily, reliable free wi-fi internet access throughout, a year round indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center and a private meeting room. Rooms feature 32" flat screen televisions with premium cable programming (including HBO), refrigerator, microwave and coffee station (with coffee maker, coffee, coffee cups, condiment kit with napkin, stir stick, creamer and sugar and alternative sweetener). Amenities include iron & ironing board,hair dryer, individually controlled heater/air-conditioner. personal grooming items and forgot something? items for travelers. Fresh baked cookies and coffee in the lobby throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites
Country Hotel Norman
Country Inn Norman
Norman Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing