We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Ted's Cafe Escondido
Ranked #4 of 332 Restaurants in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit!
Restaurant details
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit!
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Nothing exotic, probably not even authentic, but if it's tex-mex your looking for it will be hard to find anything better. Free chips, salsa, queso, and amazing tortillas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nheath13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    81
    37
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mucho Grande”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hot and spicy. Free taco with veg and cheese sauce and chips and dip. Slow down or you will fill up on the free stuff. Very large Margarita at a reasonable price. The food was great but not many pork selections. They have a very hot sauce if you want it. We had a beef burrito and chicken casada. We where very full. Our waiter was very courteous and helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rowenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADA
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Heard excellent things, but I though food was average”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Everyone says this place is great, so I wanted to eat here with some co-workers on the way home from a work trip. We were seated quickly, but it took a while for them to take drink orders. I liked the chips and salsa. I ordered the Chicken Fajita Spinach Enchiladas lite portion. I thought it was pricey, especially for a lite portion. The service could have been better, but they were busy. I'm glad I tried it, but I wasn't impressed like I thought I would be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Ivy_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickasha
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ole'”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We are amazed that every visit to Ted's the service, quality and quantity of the food, the value, and the atmosphere is consistantly excellent. It is always worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average food, great service”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spent some time in Norman and tried this place because it was within walking distance of my hotel and on-line ranking services gave it high marks. Was seated and given tortilla chips very fast, along with other freebie sides like pickled green tomatoes. Had a combination plate and was rather dissapointed in the blandness of the food. The chicken in the quesadilla was very poorly seasoned/unseasoned and looked to have been cooked or mixed in with some type of bland salsa. The cheddar cheese sauce appearted like it came out of a can; very little flavor. It was not a bad meal; just did not have the pizzaz one would expect of a very highly rates eating establishment. Best part of the meal was actually the salsa and chips.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgrippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Cafe Escondido also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Cafe Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing