We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowed In and Enjoyed It!”
Review of Riverwind Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverwind Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The first weekend of Feb, our 26 year old adopted daughter, my husband and I came to Riverwind Hotel, a central location for us, to meet her birth father and siome other members of his family for the first time. The weather had turned bad with lots of ice and snow, but we were warm inside and enjoyed the facilities Sat-Mon. The only negative thing I can say is when asked by the maid service if we wanted our room cleaned on Sunday I said it wasn't really necessary, but I would like some fresh towels, they were not replaced as requested. The staff were all very pleasant and my husband diffidently loved the complimentary cookies at the front desk! One thing I do question is why our room 424 did not have a refrigerator or microwave, as most of the nicer motels and hotels we've stayed in recently have had these in their room for the convenience of their guests....I guess I'm getting spoiled..Ha!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie K, Manager at Riverwind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

To our valued guest from Bossier City, Louisiana:

The hotel staff and I are honored that you decided to stay with us during your special event with your daughter. I do sincerely apologize for the miscommunication between housekeeping. I have spoken with our housekeeping manager to insure this does not happen again. You are always welcome to contact us at the front desk with any requests. I myself am questioning why you didn’t have a refrigerator in your room. All of our King Deluxe rooms come with a refrigerator inside the room and we have a microwave in the lobby for our guest to use. Once again, thank you for joining us during your recent visit. We all look forward to having you and your family here in the future. Please, if you have any questions or comments contact me and I will be at your service.

Sincerely,
Christopher Woodrow
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 418 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were welcomed by Jon and even though we didn't have a reservation, he found us a wonderful room, Ellen and Carolyn and Renee all helped with check in and check out. Rooms were wonderful, clean and warm - Thank you so much for the great experience

Room Tip: Away from the Casino Door on 3 - even down the hall is better than next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie K, Manager at Riverwind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

To our valued guest from Watertown, South Dakota:

I’m pleased to hear that you decided to stay in our hotel. Our staff members and I take pride in creating a pleasant experience, from your arrival until the time you leave. We appreciate that you shared your experience and I am eager to share your comments with the rest of our staff. Please join us again if you are in the area and if you have any future questions or comments, feel free to call me and I will be at your service.

Sincerely,
Christopher Woodrow
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We love going to Riverwind Hotel and Casino.. Our latest visit was in January for our anniversary.. Loved it, received a free upgrade plus they were so very helpful. Kyle and everyone are always so helpful and friendly and offered any assistance that we needed. Thank you all for making our 36th anniversary a great one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaCharlieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie K, Manager at Riverwind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

To our valued guest from Cherokee, Oklahoma:

The Riverwind Hotel staff members and I are thrilled that you decided to celebrate your anniversary with us. As always, we greatly appreciate you taking time from your schedule to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you soon, and maybe even sharing your 37th anniversary together. If you have any questions or comments please give me a call and I will be at your service.

Sincerely,
Christopher Woodrow
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I don't drive. I go there when my son will pick me up and I take a comp room due to the casino.
I cannot afford BIG gambling...so it is for fun. I could not afford the rooms otherwise. Anyway, they could have little crappy rooms for the free people. Instead, I have been given a very nice, clean room each time. The young people at the front desk are always friendly and very helpful. The cookies at the counter are a nice touch. Even the workers I pass at the hotel are quite friendly and willing to help. Cannot say enough good about the staff. My only complaint, due to late gambling, is that I wish checkout time could be later in order to sleep. That will not change my great outlook for the Riverwind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie K, Manager at Riverwind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

To our valued guest from Guthrie, Oklahoma:

My team members and I take great pride in providing beautiful clean rooms from every guest, every time no matter what rate you’re staying at. I can’t express how pleased I am to hear that our staff from the front desk to housekeeping is looking for ways to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We do offer late check-outs from 30 minutes to one hour. Speak with a front desk agent at check-in or any point throughout the duration of your stay and let them know you would like a late check-out and they will take care of you. If you have any further questions or comments please give me a call and I will be at your service.

Sincerely,
Christopher Woodrow
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

“Riverwind Hotel Excellent Stay 2/4/2014”
1. My hotel stay was excellent from Start to Finish. Hotel staff members were friendly and very helpful.
2. Front desk staff (Kyle A.) was very professional, answered all questions, and arranged for bags, ice, waters, juices sent to my room.
3. The room was very clean and comfortable and food in the casino buffet was great.
I will recommend it to my friends and relatives.
4. Twice a month I will stay and play casino electronic games in the hotel and casino.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms and suites are very large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie K, Manager at Riverwind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

To our valued guest from Oklahoma City:

Our staff sincerely thanks you for your business and taking time out of your day to inform us on your experience staying at Riverwind. We do our best to insure that your stay is pleasant from check-in to check-out. I look forward to sharing your comments with Kyle and the rest of the staff. We look forward to your company in the future, please contact me if you have any questions or comments and I will be at your service.

Sincerely,
Christopher Woodrow
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The recent visit (January 29 - February 1, 2014) was excellent as usual. Hotel staff (Carolyn) was very helpful and the rooms were great as usual. Fitness room was good and we utilized it. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie K, Manager at Riverwind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

To our valued guest:

We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely thank you for using our workout facility and taking time from your schedule to inform us on your experience. Carolyn will be excited to know that she could be of service during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future, please feel free to contact me and I will be at your service.

Sincerely,
Christopher Woodrow
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Excellent stay on 1/9/14. Carlos met us at car and helped get bags to our room. Got us ice and waters. Took are of valet parking. Answered all our questions. Understand from Managers next day he was employee of year. Very deserving of the award!? Talked with two managers next morning and expressed how we love to stay at hotel on trips to visit our kids in Texas. Saw great basketball game at OU, of course KU WON made it even better. Had GREAT time in casino wife and I won BIG. Thanks to staff for a great stay. See in late January for another stay!!! Karen and Richard Rippert

Room Tip: Excellent place stay, easy access to and expressway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRippert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie K, Manager at Riverwind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

To our guests from Hutchinson, KS:

We are so pleased that Carlos was able to assist you during your check-in; he is our go-to guy! As a team we greatly enjoy your company so please feel free to visit us on your way to visit the kids. Congratulations to you and your wife winning big in the casino. We are very much looking forward to your stay in January! If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to contact me and I will be at your service.

Sincerely,
Chris Woodrow
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Norman
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
5.7 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwind Hotel

Address: 2901 Bankers Ave., Directly behind Riverwind Casino, Norman, OK 73072
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing