We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Largest Hotel in Oklahoma - but still friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Largest Hotel in Oklahoma - but still friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

NCED stands for National Center for Employee Development. Built 20 years ago this facility was designed to be the central training place for all post office employees. It has over 900 rooms and all sorts of conference and training space. For the first 10 or so years it was solely for postal employees and they kept the place full year round. Then came email and the number of postal employees began to shrink. The Marriott company manages the hotel and they explained to the post office that if they wanted to stay open, they'd have to bring in other groups. The next phase was bringing in other federal agencies for training, FBI, Marshalls, DOJ, etc. That still didn't keep it over the break even line, so then they opened up to the general public for conferences, weddings, and OU home football games. It is run Marriott style. Employees are always helpful, always motivated. The place is always clean, and if something is wrong it gets fixed. Other reviewers have noted the great recreational options: huge pool (but chilly in September), full sized gym, big fitness center, massage, exercise classes, outdoor baseball diamond and tennis courts, fitness consultants, and so on. The place even has a full time health clinic with lots wellness components. Meals come with the room. There is a cafeteria with lots of options, a salad bar, pizza bar, grill, warm meal bar, and entree bar, and really good deserts. Big breakfast, lunch and dinner, and if you are a night owl, it reopens from midnight to 2 am. This is a very dangerous room. The food is good and you will eat too much. Then you will have to go work out to burn off the calories. Its 2 miles out of Norman and a half hour from Oklahoma City. A shuttle will pick you up from the airport for $25. The rooms are spartan and small. Two people tops. But clean and comfortable. Sleeping is nice because its quiet, its pretty far away from traffic and noise.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same. This was built as a dorm for postal workers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Press-on-regardless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    69
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
23
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Rooms were not as tiny as many reviews indicated. I expected to come in te room and trip over the bed. They are small but unless you are planning large amounts of time in your room other than sleeping, they are very comfortable. I am pretty spoiled to room size since I a am a meeting planner and often stay in 4 and 5 star hotel suites. We were there for an OU game. Enjoyed our stay. One word of warning if taking hotel shuttle to game. They are very prompt. If you book 4:00, be there 5-10 minutes before. They leave promptly as soon as their clock "strikes" the hour.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonWaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

You're actually allowed to feed the ducks and ducklings at the pond and there is a pellet vending machine to feed them with if you don't have bread. The hotel has features you won't find elsewhere like a basketball court, baseball field, and olympic sized pool. It's also one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at. Downside is that the rooms are smaller than average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
351 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is apparently where postal workers convene for training. Wish I could train here! The other writers say the rooms are small, but we didnt think so at all. Nice, clean, efficient rooms. Huge outdoor pool, great outdoor sitting areas. Fitness room is HUGE, as is the lobby area and dining room. The prices are very competitive and i think the best value in Norman.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spunkydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Rooms are small but the conference center is HUGE. Very large cafeteria with price and selection that can't be beat. Postal workers in Norman for technical training have little choice but to stay there, but for conference attendees, this place can not be beat!

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher to get away from the noise. Pool view is the only one worth seeing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTretick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our family loved this location. It has great fitness facilities with a massive pool and hot tubs that are open until late at night. The rooms are small, but with the many recreational options, you probably won't be in your room very much. Our queen suite was really two rooms - each with a separate bath - one with a queen bed and the other with a pull-out sofa. There were two t.v.s and fast internet connection. There is a pub on site and the breakfast buffet is large. Before choosing your breakfast, take a walk around the different food options - you will want to spend calories on options that you enjoy and not waste food. The resort is charming because of all the postal memorabelia that decorate and line the hallways. If offers a certain level of security since everyone who drives onto the property must check in with a security booth. There isn't anything missing from this resort except perhaps a shuttle to OU. However, they do offer a shuttle with scheduled pick-up times that will wisk you off to other localities - including the mall and movie theater. If you have children, they'll enjoy this location.

Room Tip: Our 6th floor foom was quiet and comfortable - not large, but had everything we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceanlover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was in Norman to attend the Oklahoma University graduation. I found the NCED to be a great place to stay. It was comfortable, affordably priced and quiet, even though it had been booked to capacity the weekend I stayed there. The food was very good and the complimentary breakfast terrific. The only problem I had was eating too much at breakfast, but that was not the hotel’s fault.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamilcarWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#13 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development

Property: Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
Address: 2801 E State Highway 9, Norman, OK 73071-1101 (Formerly NCED Conference Center and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development 3*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened to the public, this is the largest hotel in Oklahoma, featuring newly (2009) renovated guest rooms, affordable buffet style dinner and route 66 lounge. It also has the most extensive fitness and recreational facilities of any hotel in Oklahoma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nced Hotel Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing