We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmberg House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Norman B&B and Inns
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wonderful getaway”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I had some parties in downtown Norman and a concert to attend, so we decided to stay the night at the Holmberg House. It was such a wonderful experience and great getaway. The room was very pretty and clean. The owners were so sweet and grounds gorgeous. You can tell they take great care of the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Holmberg House for a special birthday/anniversary weekend and absolutely loved the place! It is conveniently located next to the Campus Corner area just north of the Gaylord Stadium and we could walk just a short distance for a variety of foods, drinks and entertainment. The owners, Lou and Gene, were amazing hosts and our room was beyond nice with a full bath including a jacuzzi tub and a heavenly bed. Our breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the company of the other guests immensely. The front porch is beautiful and such a comfy place to just sit and visit and enjoy the beautiful flowers in the English garden type yard. If you are lucky the owners sweet dog, Jenny, will join you on the porch! We highly recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone staying in Norman!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Although the three course breakfast isn't gourmet, the owners are terrific and the house is very charming. It is also walking distance from some nice restaurants. Each of the rooms has different themes and furniture. Our Bed and Bath room had a tub in the bedroom, almost at the foot of the bed and was cozy and romantic.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RockstarWinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Level Contributor
679 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a historic house that belonged to a dean at the university once and now is a bed and breakfast. The rooms have themes. We were in the "Blue Danube" room. It has a jacuzzi tub (which we had no time to use), a shower, a closet, a very small TV, and a queen size bed. There was very good internet access, but there was no desk, so we had to put our computer on a bedside table. There were soft chairs in the room, but no straight chairs. There was plenty of dresser space in the room. The bed (when we came in) was overloaded with decorative pillows (which is a nice touch, but one never knows where to put them, as one does have to sleep in the bed). There was a window air conditioner, which we used. The room had a lock and key. When I asked about whether they needed the key to make up the room, I was told there is "no maid service". This is OK, as we don't mind making our own bed, but seemed a bit strange. No one came in, even to empty the wastebaskets or change the towels the entire time. This was OK, because we only stayed 3 nights. I don't know whether this was because the innkeepers were on vacation and they had someone else running the place. The upstairs hall had a small apt. size fridge with drinks, mainly cokes and water, and a coffee maker (and various kinds of coffee and tea) that one needed to learn how to use-- Keurig or something like that. The downstairs had some packaged snacks in a jar that one could help oneself to. There were nice 3-course breakfasts, not too big, different each morning. It always started with fruit, then a main dish (one day half a waffle, another day stuffed zucchini, another day a crepe), and lastly a small dessert (one day a tiny piece of cheese cake). They are willing to take into account one's allergies, but we don't have any. They did provide us decaf coffee, when we asked. There is parking for perhaps 4 cars in the driveway. The front door has a rather cranky combination lock, which they showed us how to use, and eventually one can figure out how to use. There is a nice front porch with rocking chairs and porch/lawn furniture, which is a nice place to visit with friends. There is also a nice side garden with a small waterfall and fish pond with goldfish and a table and chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmbergHouse, Owner at Holmberg House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are sorry we missed meeting you and your husband and hope you will visit again. We trust that our staff took very good care of you. We are a small bed and breakfast and therefore are able to give personalized service. We did have lap desks and a computer table for your use in the closet of your room. I apologize that it wasn't pointed out to you. It certainly would have made it easier for the work you were doing while here.

With so many business travelers and international guests, (who generally stay two nights), we don't provide turn down service as everyone's schedule is different and we never want to interrupt a guest enjoying the space, napping or working. We do however, let our guests know if they need anything at all, we are here to accomodate. Thank you for your kind words. Blessings & Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Holmberg House and received the best customer service from Gene & Lou. The food that Lou cooked was delicious for breakfast and generous. Our Cottage-was clean and exactly what we needed for an overnight stay. The thing that took them from good to great however was-after leaving my purse in the cottage they actually delivered it to my house! Customer service is their specialty!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage that backed up to the alley of campus corner-so expect some music from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Needing a place to stay near OU to see a dance performance on campus, Holmberg House was the perfect location. We met my daughter and walked to one of her favorite restaurants and then on to the theatre. Lou and Gene were gracious and accommodating, even inviting my daughter to join us since the room sleeps three. The Holmberg House has a peaceful, pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast was individually cooked, unlike some larger B&Bs I've stayed in; no warmed up casseroles here! The living areas have shining hand crafted woodwork and are impeccably clean. Comfortable beds, pretty décor, large bathroom, and plenty of closet space. The only problem was the noise, but as soon as we turned on the A/C fan we slept well. Who knew the train went through Norman all night?

This is The Place To Stay in Norman, and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

comfortable, inviting, welcoming.....best location (right near the OU campus....Amazing owners that know how to pamper a guest and make them feel special and relaxed...beautiful home, rooms are perfection....I highly recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
2.8 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmberg House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmberg House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holmberg House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 766 Debarr Ave, Norman, OK 73069-4908
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed & Breakfast. The Holmberg House is steeped in rich history alongside the University of Oklahoma in Norman, Oklahoma. Professor Fredrik Holmberg and his wife, Signy, built the home in 1914. Holmberg was the first Dean of the University of Oklahoma's College of Fine Arts and was also the first to conduct a symphony orchestra in Oklahoma. The home was renovated and turned into a Bed & Breakfast in 1993. We are located in the heart of Campus Corner, just across the street from OU and two blocks from OU Memorial Stadium. The Historic Campus Corner offers restaurants, shopping & entertainment, all within walking distance. The house was built in craftsman style architecture. It has all the charm of a 100 year old home and all the comforts of 21st Century technology including private bathrooms, flat screen TV's and free internet Wi-Fi. Some of the rooms have jacuzzi tubs, showers or tub and shower. Your stay with us will be filled with special memories. Come relax on our incredible front porch or by the koi pond, enjoy the beautifully landscaped grounds, celebrate special occasions, attend an OU Football game, have meetings and enjoy our three course gourmet breakfast. Allow us to make your stay at Holmberg House Bed & Breakfast comfortable, cozy and filled with warmth & kindness. Blessings & Safe Travels! Mark and Melanie Millsap Owners & Innkeepers ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing