We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room for wheelchairs”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
First Council Casino
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Newkirk
Attraction details
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No room for wheelchairs”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This casino is packed so tight with slot machines that my wheelchair couldn't fit thru! My husband had to whined this way and that and even ask people to move. Now the concert venue has set seating. They used to move chairs for me so I could sit with my husband. I don't know what they will do now. I will find out on Friday when I go watch fights. Highly disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleTumbleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    6
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“NO Poker room”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I travelled to this casino so I could attend the BB KING concert. THe event center really gets incredible talent even tho it is a small venue. He was very disappointed when when got there to find they had taken out the poker room. The hotel room was new, pretty basic amentities and breakfast for $170!
We'll not go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank joks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Seats”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I have been to shows at the casino in the past. We sat comfortably and loved the venue! However, in March 2013 we went to see Credence Clearwater Revisited, It was a great show, but we were disappointed in the new seats. The casino used to have folding chairs that us larger folk could kind of move around slightly to not crowd others. Now the casino has gone with chairs that are attached to each other and there is no way to move them. My husband is large and an even larger woman had the seat two seats down from my husband. I had to sit completely sideways glued to my husband. Luckily my husband had an isle seat or I do not think the three of us could have all sat. The venue is fine for average size folks, but if you are a large person, just be aware that you will be uncomfortable. Try to get an aisle seat. Also, if you want to eat at the restaurant there before the show, plan on it taking over an hour to eat. The food is good, but the service is slow.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“SMOKE...SMOKE....SMOKE!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I could hardly breath! The cigarette smoke was so thick you could cut it with a knife!! I got a headache right away. I guess if you can stand the smoke you could have fun. Personally, if I have to change my clothes outside to prevent the stink of cigarette smoke in my home, I can't say I want to go back. They did have a "smoke free" room....excuse me???....it was a tiny little room with a couple slots. Good thing about it is that I don't linger and spend more money gambling!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmoser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but no service”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The casino was nice, clean but after 3 hours of play I was never offered any beverage, I did see the waitresses talking with other employees but I had to go to the bar to get a drink

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank E92543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Council Casino also viewed

 

Been to First Council Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing