We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Coleman Theater

Coleman Theater
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We walked in and was immediately greeted and went on a tour right away (it was just us 4). The architecture was amazing and the interesting history to go along with it. We got to go on stage and even have a backstage tour of the old electrical board and the pulls for the various props and curtains. I have to say being up on the stage, even with it being empty besides my family members, it was very intimidating. We got to hear the Wurlitzer play (recorded) and the history on that. Very colorful and magical place to think it was in 1929! I couldn't imagine how much skill and tools they used to hand craft everything. Main attraction to me was the chandelier! It was huge and shiny. I could sit there for hours and just stare at how beautiful it was! Up stairs was amazing with the old dressing rooms and bathrooms. A must see when visiting Miami! The only thing is it is free but there is a donation box at the entrance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice old theater”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We took a free tour of the Coleman theater. A guide shows you around and tells you about the history of the theater and all about the restoration of the theater. It's beautiful. We got to go backstage and check out the "stars'" dressing room and the dressing rooms of the rest of the cast. Really neat place, on Route 66. It's a part of history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Coleman Theater is worth the stop--and right on Route 66!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Coleman Theater is the most beautiful theater...bar none. In a town that obviously does not value its worth, the friends of the theater have been diligent in renovation something that is for the ages to enjoy. After taking the tour during the Joplin International Route 66 Festival (which was a boring festival), I learned that the theater was saved from the wrecking ball, literally. People in the community have saved this gem, and for the last 25 years have been slowly putting the pieces of it's history back together. With celebrities like Will Rogers, Bing Crosby, Bob Hope, and The Three Stooges gracing the stage back in the day, it is hard to say whether or not acts of their caliber can be supported now...but after attending the tribute to artist Charles Banks Wilson (who had his studio in Miami, just across the street from the theater), their is a definite interest in Prairie Home Companion-style shows that bring many acts together on the same stage. Personally, I'd like to see The Mavericks on this stage; if they could play the Uptown in Napa, CA, and Knuckleheads in KC, why not the Coleman? If you are traveling anywhere in the four-state area, you need to make the Coleman a stop on your journey. For a voluntary $5 donation (just like the Surf Ballroom in Iowa) for the tour, you'll be glad you did.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeMeDaVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

this is a nice theatre to visit,it is really beautiful and some say its haunted and best of all its free

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was one of our stops on our "Route 66 Vacation". The theater is beautiful. There was a gentleman that took us through the theater and explained everything to us. The organ sounded beautiful! I would definitely tell everyone to visit. Plus, it's free for the tour.....just a donation box is available if you feel led to give something.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coleman Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing