We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs sprucing up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites McAlester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites McAlester
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs sprucing up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here on way from TX to MO. Had small dog so was limited to hotel choices. We made reservations and when we arrived we were given our key. Room smelled musty. Husband tried to turn on A/C only to find it didn't work and the floor underneath the A/C unit was soaked. So back to the front desk, where the staff, who was wonderful, said he only had 3 more rooms left and all were more expensive than ours. However once he looked in ours, we got one those more expensive rooms for same price. However the new room had big chunks out of one of the counters, I had to pick up 8 dead crickets off a very old carpet that was need of replacement. The staff was great. The breakfast good, but this Comfort Inn needs and updo soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan31903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
29
24
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The rooms were very beautiful and up to date, all suites so you never get that cramped feeling. Breakfast was good, staff was friendly, everything went very smoothly (check in, checkout etc). Will recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohXbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Traveling from Northeast Oklahome to Dallas, Texas, we decided to stop early at McAlester, OK and made reservations the day before. Upon arrival, the front desk said "we have been expecting you. Here is your key card. Everything is done, Just sign here for the pre-agreed upon rates". I did and we were in our room within 3 minutes upon arrival at the hotel. Rooms were very clean. Also, the front desk told us since were in non-smoking, if we smell smoke, just let them know and they will give us another room as some guests do not honor the non-smoking and that they will bill the previous guest. Our King suite was quiet. We actually had to "step-up" to reach the bed. Was very pleased with the room and overall stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1beach-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Perhaps I was slightly biased by my horrible mood after being on the road for endless hours, but this hotel was certainly NOT what I had expected at all. The ratings were high and the reviews were decent so I certainly wasn't looking to find heinously stained carpet in a room that reeked terribly of stale smoke. When I asked the concierge about the smell he said the hotel was entirely smoke free, but there were cigarette burns and smoke stains in my room. Also, there were roaches. Some dead, and one little guy alive in the bathroom. I'm thinking we were on the once 'smokers only' designated side so it's possibly suffered worse damage than the 'non smoking' side, but I was still very let down by the room. The staff was beyond friendly and very helpful. I was just so put off by the poignant smoke smell and roaches that I doubt I'll return when coming back through.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel0890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McAlester hotels

Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

First, this is the fstest Check-in I have ever had, about 30 sscs. Yes, we had booked the room the day before, but still the fastest.
Sherisse at the front desk was helpful with picking out a great chinese restaurant right across the street, great buffet aqnd price.
Our room was a large Suite for the price of $68 plus tax, Senior Rate. The beds are high off the floor and the room was very clean. We had to do laundry while at the hotel and the washers were very large, costing $1.00 and $1.00 for the dryer.

The hotel is easy to find, right on the expressway, No searching around at night.

And, Yes I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim45900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Wow...clean is what I can say about this hotel, from the lobby to our room. Big room with microwave and refrigerator & wifi. Our room was quiet but was on the top floor so I don't know if there would be noise from "footsteps". Got in after 11:00pm and the desk clerk was very helpful and friendly. Great selection of breakfast items. The beds were high to get in to but
oh-so comfortable. This hotel had a great price for the value (just under $80 w/tax). If we have occasion to stop in McAlester again, this would be our go to hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAFLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I expected my room to be decent, clean and somewhat comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised and very pleased. The room was spotless, beautifully decorated and well stocked. My room had a table and chairs, sofa and coffee table, as well as the usual desk and entertainment armoire. It was nice to have a "real" closet to hang my clothes out of sight. The bed was a little big tall for my short legs, but once I got in it, it was extremely comfortable and had several extra pillows - a big plus for me. It was nice to have the desk for writing and the sofa and coffee table for sorting out paperwork. Plenty of towels which were very high quality. Soaps, shampoos, etc. and a good hair dryer. Also a separate area for the coffee maker and refrigerator and microwave. I didn't have time to try the breakfast but it smelled delicious. Very pleased and will definitely stay here again. I felt like it was quite a bargain for $89 (plus taxes).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomesickGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAlester hotels
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 16 in McAlester
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
2.1 mi away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 16 in McAlester
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites McAlester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites McAlester

Property: Comfort Suites McAlester
Address: 650 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK 74501-7292 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites McAlester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites McAlester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcalester Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing