We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the 50's”
Review of Happy Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Happy Days Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a clean and trendy motel with a nice 50's touch. Bed was comfortable. one block from a metro-plex movie theater, 1/2 mile from all the shopping and dining needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast was all carbs, but tasty.

Room Tip: This was the first time I used an online discount service only to find their discounted rate was hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PH55122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for the great review. It's always good to hear from our guests.

If you booked through Booking.com, the rates are higher, if you call us directly or use our web-site link, it would have been the same, before discount, as the sign.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Pleasant place with lots of memorabilia and very conveniently located. Food is handy, fun out the back door and reasonably priced. Least expensive way to book is to call them direct. The staff went out of their way to accommodate me.

Room Tip: See review comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were made to feel welcome. We hope to see you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I LOVE this hotel. We used to live in McAlester and have always wanted to stay there ever since it was built. We would often eat at Angels Diner. We are children of the 50s and love to step back in time. Now that we live in TX, we come visit our son in McAlester. We were also celebrating Valentine's Day/39th Anniversary. Everyone is so nice and helpful. We WILL stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen Deluxe room, and it was very comfortable, spacious and clean. That was the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share about your visit. We are very glad you finally got to stay with us and had an enjoyable Valentine's Day & Anniversary. We look forward to getting to know you mare as you take that "Step back in time" to those wonderful days of the 50's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed in the Happy Day Hotel because the location was near our meeting site. We've stayed there before. We were very pleased with the rooms. They are themed for Movie Stars from the 50's and early 60's. Ours was Marilyn Monroe themed. The rooms are small but clean and the furniture is in good condition. The staff was very friendly and efficient. They serve a limited breakfast that we didn't eat but right next door is a diner furnished in the same theme and we found it to be very good and not expensive at all. There are several places to stay in McAlester Oklahoma but I recommend the Happy Days for a unique experience.

Room Tip: If yo have a favorite 50 movie star ask if they have that room it may make the stay a little more fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for that great review. We are glad you choose us over & over and plan to return. We love to be the meeting place over & over again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed in so far. The ambiance is great! There is a free breakfast and behind the hotel is a recreation center/bar. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay here at Happy Days Hotel in McAlester, OK. We are always glad to hear that our guests take the time to eat at Angel's Diner & visit Great Balls of Fire, as well. It makes for a well rounded trip to be able to "Eat, Stay & Play" without having to drive to get to do something.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

While travelling from Killeen, Tx to Illinois we found this hotel. The location was perfect as it sits right on the highway. It seemed a bit weird, but its great if you enjoy themed hotels. I really just wanted a nice, clean place to stay after driving for awhile.

It was that and more. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were extremely clean, and the breakfast was great. The price at the time was about 60 dollars, so it was a great value. Parking was also free which is a plus. If I am ever in the area again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNelTravelGenious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for giving a nice review. We like to hear from new and old friends how their stay was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this place travelling through. Great value and clean rooms. Personal touch. American family owned and operated. They also have a diner and a bowling alley right there owned by same family. They allow pets too with no hassle.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAlester hotels
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 16 in McAlester
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Mcalester
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Days Hotel

Address: 1400 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK 74501-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range: $78 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Happy Days Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Happy Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing