We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a usually a country buffet fan, but not bad...”

Western Sizzlin Steakhouse & Buffet
Ranked #47 of 75 Restaurants in McAlester
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a usually a country buffet fan, but not bad...”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went to this place with a friend during a three week business trip. My meal was $11 including the drink. The buffet was a decent size and pretty yummy and they offer you a fresh baked potato that you could truss up however you wanted. Money well spent and I left satisfied.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty H, Owner at Western Sizzlin Steakhouse & Buffet, responded to this review, February 21, 2017
Thanks for stopping by
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    17
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“a disappointment”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This chain used to be real good but this particular location leaves a lot to be desired! No one
greeted us when we walked in, the man behind the order counter wasn't friendly. We sat down
and waited a bit for one of the staff to bring our utensils, and my husband was given a platter
and I received a small plate. The roll was dry and the dessert wasn't very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never were even acknowledged!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Can't really review the food, never even received drinks. We drove to McAlester to go to the movies and decided to eat at Western Sizzlin. It had been redone since we were there last and looked real nice. We went to the counter to get our drinks and place our order. We heard them call for a server on the intercom and thought one would would be with us shortly. We waited several minutes. We even saw at least 3 employees close by, and were never helped at all. We waited several more minutes and kept looking around. Finally, after waiting for 12 minutes without any acknowledgment whatsoever, we went to another restaurant down the road. Most likely, will NOT return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MNGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty H, Owner at Western Sizzlin Steakhouse & Buffet, responded to this review, February 21, 2017
New ownership since May 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookson
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GO to McDonald's!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The staff was very disrespectful. Bread was awful!!! Food was dry and overcooked. Not given enough plates for our party to eat, staff didn't want to give more. Isn't that why you go to a buffet???? Ice cream cones, old and stale..... save your money and go to one of the fast food restruants, literally next door. Food much fresher, better and staff much nicer!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty H, Owner at Western Sizzlin Steakhouse & Buffet, responded to this review, February 21, 2017
Under new ownership since May 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

food was displayed nicely and server was very friendly-large selection to choose from-i felt welcome there

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindyMcAlester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty H, Owner at Western Sizzlin Steakhouse & Buffet, responded to this review, February 21, 2017
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Sizzlin Steakhouse & Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Western Sizzlin Steakhouse & Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing