We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Hamburgers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angel's Diner

Angel's Diner
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in McAlester
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Hamburgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stopped in for lunch and had delicious hamburgers and this cute diner. Clean and well decorated. Very friendly staff and excellent service. The prices were also very reasonable and plenty of food on our plates. I will say that the French fries were average but many of the other patrons' meals looked good as well. We will definitely stop in again on our next trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ima50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    56
    23
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carl Junction, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad Food & Worse Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

While driving to Dallas for a mini vacation with friends we stopped in to eat at Angel's Diner.

When we arrived inside we were seated and our drink orders were taken. Upon getting our drinks everyone commented that the soda tasted VERY flat and that the water had almost a corn taste to it.

We then all ordered our meals & waited & waited & waited some more. Meanwhile 3 other tables with groups far larger than our group of 4 had came in and ordered & received their food. 1 table had even paid & left!

When we finally got our food it was NOT worth the wait. Everything was very bland and no flavor. The food was also very pricey considering McDonald's would be at least 10 steps above this place in food quality.

We would NOT recommend this place at all!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LPBENW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice roadside surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I usually spend the night in McAlester, OK, on our way to Texas. We used to stay at the Hampton Inn and eat at Chili's. Desperate to find a place that offered better food, we decided to try Angel's Diner. What a pleasant surprise! Had a great burger and salad for dinner, and well-prepared fried eggs and grits for breakfast. Prices are reasonable and the staff is friendly and hardworking. We also stayed at the diner's companion motel, Happy Days, and found it clean and reasonably priced. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent place to travel back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Excellent place for dining with the whole family. We stopped here for breakfast two days in a row. Very friendly staff and fun atmosphere.
Love the 50's theme an nostalgia. There is even a bowling alley and hotel next to the diner all by the same owner and same theme. Great location, right off highway 69.

Helpful?
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like the good old days.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Angels is nostalgic in its decore, with a friendly hard working staff. The meals are blue plate specials just like we use to get at our small cafés when I was a child. You're not going to find a five star meal, but it is well worth the time to stop, enjoy the memorabilia, and eat a wholesome meal. It goes very well with the other family developments in the area I.e. Motel & Bowling Alley. Worth the stop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Angel's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing