We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it! Went back again and again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marilyn's Restaurant

Marilyn's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in McAlester
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it! Went back again and again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is small and unassuming and positively delightful. It is very quaintly decorated with antique tins and other country sundries. Cool light fixtures.The waitress was always very pleasant (she constantly checked on us) and seemed to many patrons by name. There were always locals in the place which I love. I always ate the breakfast food when I went so I won't comment on their other offerings. The pancakes are awesome and my eggs were always perfectly cooked. The biscuits and gravy are yum and don't forget the blackberry cobbler. I stayed in town for three weeks and probably ate at this place like 5 times. Absolutely loved!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MSarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“It is okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Can get extremely busy...seems to be very popular. Only one waitress working dinner on the Wednesday evening in January that we dined there. They weren't full yet as we were a bit early for dinner, so I imagine the speed of service would go down as the place filled up. Food was alright...homecooked type meals with a side of "greens" (which was a surprise, as not mentioned on the menu). Place is small, decorated nice and was clean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iluv2travel059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, KS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neighborhood feel - good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is warm and simple. My dinner was chicken fried chicken, with potato, salad, hot vegetable and toast; and all was very good. Very reasonably priced. Service was warm and good. Staff is friendly. It was recommended by local hotel staff. I will return.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great home cooking in a friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just finished lunch here and enjoyed our hot vegetable soup and grilled chicken sandwich. But my GPS didn't take us quite far enough headed south. Look for this cozy place with around 14 tables adjacent to the Best Western Inn at McAlister. Our total bill with two large iced teas was only $11.99--good food and good value (and we are PICKY). The waitress (owner?) knows almost everyone by name who walks in the door. Easy off and on from US 69 and easy to park.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cceen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
430 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Local Diner with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband drive through on our way to Arkansas. Decided to try a local restaurant instead of a chain for lunch. This is a small place and it is definitely laid out like a diner. They were short on wait staff this day and the woman that was running the show did an excellent job. The food here is good. I had chicken fried steak and my husband had the special hamburger steak with onion gravy. It was a nice change from fast food. The prices are good. I recommend if you are looking for some home cooking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Likeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marilyn's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marilyn's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing