We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Still Econo Lodge of McAlester; still a filthy, hospitality-challenged hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Still Econo Lodge of McAlester; still a filthy, hospitality-challenged hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Econolodge still considers this to be one of their properties -- maybe it's undergoing a de-flagging. (It should.) How a family-owned property could have been (apparently) run this poorly is a mystery.

We stopped here on our way north for an inexpensive place to stay, and based off of recommendations from other non-TA sites. The hotel "appears" to have been renovated from the outside... basically a fresh coat of paint, or the analogy "lipstick on a pig" comes to mind. The Econo Lodge website had apparently double-booked our reservation without a second confirmation; fortunately, the young desk agent pointed this out to us at check in and offered to cancel the additional reservation with no penalty.

Once we had been in the room for some time, we noticed a recurring smell which, upon further examination, apparently originates from the carpet and baseboards, which, to our dismay, apparently have not been cleaned in what may be decades. The upholstered chairs are equally filthy & possessing suspicious "liquid stains". We sprayed air freshener, with made the room somewhat tolerable, and as we were too exhausted to move, we decided to tough it out for the night.

The continental breakfast consisted of all starch and sugar-based items. Although the biscuits and gravy appeared to be a nice touch, they were not very appetizing. The waffle batter was left uncovered for what seemed to be hours. The area itself was not attended/staffed, relying on the one morning desk clerk to handle any issues or restocking. (visited the breakfast area twice, and it was clear that no re-stocking had taken place.)

A lat check out promised at check in was later repealed by the morning clerk, who blamed the night clerk for "making an error", saying that it was a mistake to have offered the late checkout to us. In over 30 years of travel, this is the first time we've ever had a conversation like this with a desk clerk,

Of further note: The advertising of a microwave and fridge in the room was a deciding factor in booking here. However, while the fridge was nice, functional and good-sized, the microwave did not work. The 30-or-40-year-old coffee maker was actually kind of interesting, and functional. The bathroom is literally so small that one must step into the tub to close the door! The beds are soft and squishy; if you like a hard mattress, wrap yourself in your favorite protective covering and perhaps crash on the filthy carpeted floor...?

All in all, this is a poorly situated property that seems to be run on a shoestring budget that does not allow for carpet shampooing, training of housekeepers, or apparent hospitality education.

Room Tip: Keep driving until you find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
2 Thank stranieri_divertenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
The guest checked in at the Econolodge, around 8pm on October 3, 2011. There were 2 reservation made online by the GUEST ,but at the check in time the night clerk removed one reservation with no penalty. Econo Lodge website does not book double reservation unless you have acknowledge and the guarantee policy twice yourself.

After the guest checked in the room, an hour later and also when the guest came to front desk for a bottle opener, night clerk had ask him “Is everything ok and comfortable in the room.” Guest replied, everything is excellent in the room, and guest asked for a late check-out for 4pm. Night desk clerk told the guest; “Please check with morning clerk for the late check-out availability.”

Next morning on the way out from the breakfast room, guest received an extension till 1 PM. At this time guest’s attitude shifted from being great to not so happy at all because he couldn’t stay till 4 PM. (By the way if rooms were so filty and uncomfortable why the guest wants to stay long as possible.)

Following day General Manager, called the Guest and apologized once again. GM explained and was sorry that they couldn’t grant him the check-out till 4 PM, DUE TO NEXT ARRVING GUEST for that day and giving housekeeping enough time to have the ROOM READY FOR THE NEW ARRIVAL. General Manager offered the guest one free complementary stay or a refund for his stay. Guest decided to get the refund. GM refunded the stay on guest credit card the very same day and send out a confirmation email.

We like to take full care of our guest from check-in to check-out. Housekeeping staff works hard to keep each room very clean. All the rooms are renovated last year with new carpet, new paint, new tile work, new fridge. All the rooms have working microwave, hairdryer, and coffeemaker.

Our continental breakfast consist of: Fresh baked waffle and (our waffle batter cup always have lid on them), Biscuits and Gravy, Fruits, Four types of Danish, Muffins, Bagels, Cinnamon Rolls, Bread, Croissant, Four types of Cereals, Milk, Coffee, Apple and Orange Juice.

We appreciate everyone’s business and look forward to serving you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAlester hotels
1.9 mi away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 16 in McAlester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites McAlester
Comfort Suites McAlester
#8 of 16 in McAlester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 731 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK 74501-7278 (Formerly Midway Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing