We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family had to travel to McAlester, OK, for a funeral during a recent ice storm. We were initially concerned about how we were going to fare during the storm, but the staff at La Quinta Inn & Suites quickly put our concerns to rest. They went out of their way to take care of us, and the manager even went out in his 4x4 Jeep to get us food and supplies. The hotel is a newer La Quinta with all the standard amenities, but it was the attention of the staff that makes this one stand out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGB0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Cox
General Manager
La Quinta McAlester
lq6317gm@laquinta.com
918 423 4400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this property while traveling home from visiting family. It was convenient on our drive and past LQ stays have been typically good.

The lobby area is very open and overall seemed clean. Our room was nice and clean as well.

We arrived late in the evening and essentially headed for bed upon arrival. However, we found the room to be very noisy. Any hallway noise was very noticeable and the doors of other rooms closing seemed to shake the walls. Speaking of walls, they must be thin as we could clearly hear conversations of the neighboring rooms. We were awakened by the closing doors early the next morning.

The breakfast area was minimal. They were out of milk by 7:30 when we came down (our 3 yr old was disappointed). The area was also not particularly tidy (including a broken waffle batter dispenser). There is only one small trash can for the breakfast area and it was overflowing with plates, etc by the time we came down for breakfast.

The staff were nice but the night desk agent was obviously overwhelmed or undertrained. During the time I was in the lobby just after check-in several guests walked up to check on requests from early that went unfulfilled.

Family travelling with us prefer LQ due to their acceptance of pets but if this becomes typical we will have to find another option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. We look forward to showing you that we are working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standards.

hopefully our updates coming this year will help utilize our space more effectively,
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Cox
General Manager
La Quinta McAlester
lq6317gm@laquinta.com
918 423 4400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1
Reviewed January 2, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I was traveling Christmas Eve and never expected to find such a treasure, excellent customer service and at such a bargain. The General Manager went above and beyond-offering me a snack and a beverage and being pleasant and courteous. There was also free pizza in the lobby, which was perfect because there was not much to eat in the area on Christmas Eve. The room was gorgeous, clean, and extremely spacious; the TV and channel selection are amazing. I loved the bed and sheets as well. I think they might also allow animals. The price of the room was less than I expected to pay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and im glad you enjoyed the pizza thankfully my front desk clerk had the thought to make sure the pizza was there for our guests as al the restaurants would be closed. it is the forethought of my staff that makes our property as nice as it is. although i would love to take credit for it, it was completely their dedication to our guests satisfaction. we look forward to seeing you next time you are in our area. and mery christmas as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
O'Fallon, Illinois, USA
1
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Initially I booked this LaQuinta because of its location on our travels and it is pet friendly. But our stay here turned into a life changing event. Everything was absolutely perfect. The check-in process, the room, the restaurant nearby delivered our meal at a very reasonable rate (and was delicious), the bed-OH my gosh, that bed!! We wanted to stray in onto our car and take it with us. Everyone of the staff went out of their way to assist with a friendly demeanor. Even went so far as to offer to help in walk our two Yorkies in the rain! I can't say enough about this venue. Anytime we travel thru McAlester, we will be staying with Brian and his staff.
They have made us into LaQuinta Inn lodgers in all of our future travels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Cox
General Manager
La Quinta McAlester
lq6317gm@laquinta.com
918 423 4400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were on our way back to Texas from Branson, MO on 12/7/13 and we got to McAlester as it was getting dark. We called the LaQuinta and they had a room. We found out that if we'd gone 2 miles further there would have been traffic problems. We stayed there from Saturday until the roads in Texas were open and not as dangerous--on Tuesday. The breakfast was very good. The staff offered to go get anything we wanted since there was ice and snow on the ground. A member of our party fell on ice the Thursday before but his leg didn't swell up until Sunday. As soon as we called 911 to take him to the hospital, there was a staff person checking on us to make sure we were okay. He got transported to the McAlester Hospital and we were out of there in less than 2 hours. If you are going to be snowed in someplace, the LaQuinta in McAlester, OK is the place to be. Every staff member was congenial. Several of them were staying at the home because it was too dangerous to get back and forth from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Cox
General Manager
La Quinta McAlester
lq6317gm@laquinta.com
918 423 4400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas, USA
1
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay November 30th-December 1. The pool was working nicely. The bed was wonderful. The room and the lobby and the dining area were clean and comfortable. The breakfast worker Britney was friendly and helpful. Kept the breakfast coming and it was great food. We will definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Cox
General Manager
La Quinta McAlester
lq6317gm@laquinta.com
918 423 4400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAlester hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Mcalester
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites McAlester
Comfort Suites McAlester
#10 of 16 in McAlester
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester

Address: 1137 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK 74501-7143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range: $90 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester Hotel is in a bustling area that boasts an eclectic mix of big city conveniences and small-town charm. We offer an ideal location close to the Army Ammunition Plant, Halliburton, Boeing, Krebs Heritage Museum, Choctaw Casino, Arrowhead State Park, as well as an array of great attractions just a couple of miles away. Enjoy an abundance of outdoor adventures at breathtaking McAlester and Eufau...see morela lakes. Do some antique shopping in the Old Town Antique District. Explore the many museums, like the J.J. McAlester Mansion and Oklahoma State Penitentiary Museum. Peruse the historic downtown area. For those who want to roll the dice, Choctaw Casino is just a mile away. Are you planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion, or little league game? As a guest of the La Quinta Inn & Suites of McAlester, you'll be impressed by our friendly team members' passion for what they do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing