We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Certificate of Excellence
Euless, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

With the exception of a slow draining tub, which I called the front desk about on 3 different occasions, our stay was good. The maintenance showed up on the last day of our four night stay. The front desk was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    35
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
102
40
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
340 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this location as we wanted to get across the Oklahoma border, but the towns prior to McAlester looked a little sleezy and the reviews of hotels weren't that exciting. This was an excellent choice. This location is neat, clean and employees are very friendly. The only down side was the paper-thin walls where you can hear your neighbor's EVERY move but that is becoming the norm these days in the moderate priced hotels. There seems to be more concern for putting up a building and stuffing lots of people in it rather than trying to insulate the walls and make it more sound-proof.

Suggestion for hotel - install a real coffee maker system in your breakfast area. On several occasions, guests were having to wait for coffee to be made and then it was brought out in a pump thermos....Yuck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texaswinesnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived at the La Quinta Inn late on July 2,2012. We were greeted by an awesome staff and our accomidations were amazing. One employee, Brian Cox, made sure that we had a roll away bed for our daughter, set it up and made it up for her. He also made sure that we had everything we needed before he left our room. We enjoyed this stay and will definitly stay here on our next visit to McAlester. There were tons of pillows on the bed and it felt like you were sleeping on a cloud!!!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing..there were tons of pillows on the bed and it felt like you were sleeping on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed one night at the McAlester, OK LaQuinta due to a last-minute change in our itinerary. We arrived at 10:30 and were impessed with the overall appearance. The manager was pleasant and gave us a room without any delays. When we traveled through the lobby with our luggage, she asked us how we liked our room (this isn't a big deal, I know, but she was busy with other chores, and she acted like she really wanted to know!) The room was "new style" and clean, as were all of the main areas. In the room were both a microwave and refrigerator, as well as a flat screen TV with a "good" remote (we were able to access a guide and scroll through channels). The heating/cooling was thermostat-controlled as opposed to the window-unit type. The bathroom had a furniture styled vanity with granite top with plenty of space for both of our toiletry cases. Beds and pillows were comfortable, and I appreciated the layering of covers, so you could choose the warmth you desired.

I have not always been impressed with the quality of La Quinta hotels when we have stayed there in other areas, but this one really exceeded my expectations. Breakfast the next morning included hot foods (eggs, meat, waffles, e.g.) as well as the usual array of cold and ready-to-eat items (good cereal selection, great yogurt selection, lots of different kinds of muffins, pastries, AND three different kinds of fruit (oranges, apples, bananas).

This hotel also contains a business center (where I am writing this review) with one computer and one printer. I know it has other amenities, but we were not here long enough to avail ourselves. All in all, this has been a really pleasant surprise, and as long as we had to change our itinerary, I am glad that we changed it to this hotel. My husband met a woman at breakfast who travels the Southern-Texas-to-Kansas route regularly, and she said that this hotel was the bright spot on her commute. It certainly was a bright spot for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
241 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was an interesting, though a bothersome stay. We were given a room and went there and it hadn't been cleaned yet. So we called the desk and they directed us to another room. OK. Went there, and yep, not cleaned either. At that point we were given an upgrade to a suite, which we appreciated. The only problem with that room was that it was above a loud mechanical area--don't really know what that was but it was loud. We were just there one night so we made do. Suggestions? See the room and listen before you commit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kglen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. We look forward to showing you that we are working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standards.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our first stay at a La Quinta Inn. We stayed here for two nights (10/26-27). When we walked into our room and closed the door there was what appeared to be a cleaning rag left behind the door by the wall. We didn't touch it and apparently the cleaning staff removed it when they cleaned our room the next morning. We noticed that in the bathroom our toilet tissue roll was running low, and there was no new roll in the bathroom. We had to ask the front desk for another toilet tissue roll. Not sure if they don't leave new rolls so guests don't take them or maybe the cleaning staff just didn't double-check to leave one when making up the room prior to our arrival. At night time we were surprised to hear other hotel guests talking outside in the hall; you could actually hear their entire conversations...maybe they were just loud. Our room was next to the ice machine on the third floor. So every time someone went for ice, it was of course, noisy! Two nights of hearing a noisy ice machine and everyone's social scene by it and guests talking in the halls, the hotel walls seemed paper thin! Breakfast was, well it wasn't. Coffee always seemed to run out extremely quickly and the poor girl working was by herself checking out guests and at the same time was trying to keep up with the breakfast "buffet". The tables were never wiped down after someone left; they were always dirty with crumbs, etc., when we went down for breakfast. I don't mind wiping my own table down, but I don't carry kitchen cleaner with me to breakfast. We inquired if they had any sugar free substitutions for coffee, etc, which they did not. We would have brought our own if we had known in advance, however all the other hotels we stay at that provide breakfast buffets, do provide sufar free substitutions. We thought the quality/quantity of breakfast food was terrible. If all La Quinta Inn's are the same, thank you, but no thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the ice machine may be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mstraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. We look forward to showing you that we are working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standards.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed 1 night at this La Quinta and we had an awesome nights sleep. The mattress was very comfy! The hotel had cookies and hot coffee in the lobby when we arrived and the receptionist said they would have free beverages and bar b q in the lobby later that evening. We had other plans for the evening and did not attend. The free breakfast the follwowing morning was great! The manager was very attentive and made sure there was fresh food and plenty of hot coffee. The lobby had a nice flat screen tv to watch the morning news. This motel is very peaceful, rooms are modern and updated, staff is friendly and knowledgeable of the places in the immediate area. We have nothing negative to say about this facility. Would definitely return if ever in this area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Lovey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Cox
General Manager
La Quinta McAlester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAlester hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of McAlester
0.7 mi away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 16 in McAlester
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester
Address: 1137 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK 74501-7143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester Hotel is in a bustling area that boasts an eclectic mix of big city conveniences and small-town charm. We offer an ideal location close to the Army Ammunition Plant, Halliburton, Boeing, Krebs Heritage Museum, Choctaw Casino, Arrowhead State Park, as well as an array of great attractions just a couple of miles away. Enjoy an abundance of outdoor adventures at breathtaking McAlester and Eufau...see morela lakes. Do some antique shopping in the Old Town Antique District. Explore the many museums, like the J.J. McAlester Mansion and Oklahoma State Penitentiary Museum. Peruse the historic downtown area. For those who want to roll the dice, Choctaw Casino is just a mile away. Are you planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion, or little league game? As a guest of the La Quinta Inn & Suites of McAlester, you'll be impressed by our friendly team members' passion for what they do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing